Not Familiar in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 28, 2019, 2:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This was from the side of the track last night at what I call “Crows” when we are transitioning from day to night or night to day. I was walking home from downtown after a haircut in the freezing scouring wind. That was preparation for the snow that came a few hours later.

It hovered just above freezing most of today and that made the snow passable but as it was still snowing midday I decided to cancel my class tonight. I am sure folks would get there all right but getting home… a little uncertain. We could drop into ice-landia at any moment.

Of course 5 hours later it looks fine out there, that is the way of these things. But I didn’t want anyone to risk falling getting home and honestly I am tired. And on top of that the church arbitrarily bumped us out of our less than perfect room for an even more less than perfect room tonight and I didn’t want to deal.

I can’t even describe how icky things are at work. It is the blow upon the bruise thing with all this uncertainty. I was so mad at the individual formerly know as Saint Joe and Mr. On the Spectrum yesterday for their lack of coherent communication I could barely contain myself.

Today my office mate was due in late for some mystery reason (it would be too much to ask that he be interviewing elsewhere I suppose) and that meant I had the office to myself for a few hours. A whole bunch of work came in during that time and if I had listened to them I would have waited to start processing it, left it to them. La de da.

About half of this work was something I did in the mess yesterday confirm is still my responsibility. I had asked Mr. On the Spectrum if he had directed the individual formerly known as Saint Joe to start doing this particular function.

His response? “Not familiar.”

It turns out mistakes were made. Bleh.

Anyway so today when (we’ll just call him “Joe”) Joe showed up I quickly emailed Mr. On the Spectrum and asked if I could work from home the rest of the day. And packed up and left without a word after I received permission. I noticed Joe left early today as well.

I am glad I did because I was really busy the whole rest of the day.

But also because I could keep an eye on Diego.

Carlo was violently ill on Monday, poor guy just expelled everything in his system and I was so worried about him. I was in contact with my vet all day and in the end I thought maybe he had eaten a small piece of plastic but then last night, smack in the middle of the night, someone threw up and I heard diarrhea.

Turns out it was Diego throwing up a hairball but he also had runny poop and was a little off his food this morning. They are both fine right now. Drinking (it is the fluid loss that is worrisome in cats) and eating and Carlo is almost completely back to normal.

My theory now is I think it is the food. I feed them this specialty wet food in the mornings and I just opened a new case of that on Sunday. They won’ be getting any more of that any time soon!

Tomorrow should be fun. It will most likely be icy in the morning and Joe and I are scheduled to spend the day together in the office. If I just talk to him about specific work things as needed he will go along with that. He is a go along with kind of guy. It is just right now he is going along with the communications train wreck that is Mr. On the Spectrum.

The important thing is the cats are feeling better. I am home and safe and as of right this moment gainfully employed and I have health insurance and no place I need to be right now.

We won’t even go into the fact that there is all this super crazy disturbing stuff going on in the world like that everybody is pretending we don’t have a criminal con man as the leader of our country who is about to have a meeting in Vietnam with a cruel dictator that starves his people and uses nerve agents to settle scores while two other nuclear powers duke it out and shoot down each other’s planes and badly needed food and medicine is being withheld from yet more starving people because above mentioned con man wants their oil…

Oh and um, climate change.

But other than that we are good. :)


Last updated February 28, 2019


edna million March 01, 2019

AAGGHHHH.... work stress is THE WORST. Especially on top of Current Affairs stress. I keep listening to NPR/etc all day instead of switching to something less nerve-wracking after the morning news like I used to, and I find it hard to concentrate on actual, ummm, WORK. Very very glad the kitties are okay, though - poor guys!

mcbee March 01, 2019

Work stress + fur children stress + world stress = NO GOOD. Take some time for yourself in there somewhere, and remember that Washington is starting to sit up and take notice....I look at that as a time limited stressor. At least that's how I am able to not let it make me crazy.

Lyn March 01, 2019

Get well wishes for the boys. 🐈😼

Marg March 02, 2019

Glad the boys are better now and yes we live in stressful times that's for sure but it's really debilitating to have ongoing work stress - completely saps the soul and drains you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.