Printing An Entry in Scottish Meanderings

  • Feb. 17, 2014, 12:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Has anyone tried printing out an entry yet?

When the original panic re Open Diary started last year I took time and printed out all my entries plus notes so that I would have a hard copy of my diary. I want to carry on doing that but when I try to print in entry out on here it comes out in enormous print even though it looks fine on the screen. Changing the size of the text would sort it but I can't find how to do that - is it a feature that's not part of the site yet?

I know I could ask Simple Minds but I thought I'd ask here first just in case someone else had tried it and could point me in the right direction.


NorthernSeeker February 17, 2014

I've never tried it. Maybe you just have to copy/paste the edit entry block on an entry to get the type only.

jamez February 20, 2014

Printing is a bit of a long way round, but I don’t know how to keep it, but if you copy as I have just copied a part of your entry, and changed size and font. Now I think I know, create a folder and name it ‘myPBdiary’ or what ever, then save your enters and notes to the folder, then now and then copy the folder to a separate hard-drive or a USB mammary stick, or even burn it to a CD disk. If it’s just text one disk will hold quite a lot of entries, I’m no digital geek but I suspect it could be years of entries; images take a large amount of memory! I hope this is a help and even better – if it makes sense!

Marg jamez ⋅ February 21, 2014

It kind of makes sense! But it should be a simple affair and not one that's so complicated and I just wondered if anyone else had had the same problem. I still seem unable to change any fonts or change sizes or anything for an entry so wasn't sure if that was the same for everyone or not. At the moment I'm having to copy each entry into a WORD doc then print it out which is a bit of a faff and it would be so much easier if I could just print from here. I'll go and annoy Simple Minds and see if he/she can come up with an answer!

edna million February 20, 2014

I haven't tried either and I'm afraid jamez' note made my brain explode! I've been saving my PB entries to Evernote as I make them, and just realized the other day that since I have my colors set to the dark background and white print, if I try to print those it will use up all the ink in the printer immediately. Of course I could reset my background and print from here, if that's an option.... I actually have not printed entries in YEARS, and I feel bad about that. Years ago I'd print out my OD entries, and I have a bunch in notebooks...then I slacked off with the notebooks and didn't do anything with them but shove them in big envelopes. Then I just gave completely up.

It's funny you mention this since I was just feeling guilty about not printing entries in years. And thinking that if I do print out all my millions of entries and I use my work printer, I will have to do it in small small batches since suddenly printing a million pages may look suspicious! We do have a printer at home but it's old and I don't even know if it works anymore.

jamez edna million ⋅ February 21, 2014

Me once more! When I said I had changed size it was done in ‘Word’ In prosebox we have the one size and font, as for colour we can have any colour we like as long as it’s black, so copy from PB and paste into word; oh yes I’ve typed this in Papyrus at size 16 in red – I wonder what it will look like in prosebox ….

edna million jamez ⋅ February 21, 2014

Hi jamez! You replied to my note so I don't think Marg will see it but that is good to know so I'm glad you did! I would like to be sure I don't lose these and although saving them as screenshots to Evernote is good, it doesn't really make them very printable.

skyelord March 07, 2014

Only thing Ive managed to do is when you click the printer and click on preview it gives you a link on the top left to adjust the size

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.