the replacement in 2019

  • Feb. 18, 2019, 10:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

2:31pm

It seems I haven’t been taking the time to write much these days. Or at least that’s how it feels.

Ha. Never mind. My last entry was three days ago and I wrote three times last week. 🤦‍♀️ Dummy.

Moving on. I guess it just felt like a long time ago. Not that much has changed. Same ol’ stuff going on.

I’ve been spending a lot of time with the neighbours, which I’ve already discussed. I’m pretty sure I’ve gone over at least twice a week for the last several weeks. Usually a random day during the week and then a Sunday.

I didn’t think they were going to hang this weekend but L texted me yesterday morning to say hi and then asked what I was doing for the day. I told her my only plan was to sit on the couch with my robe/coffee and watch TV. When I asked what they were up to she told me they were making tacos and el compa was going to bring rice and beans. haha. I asked if she was just rubbing it in my face or inviting me over because she was stating it kind of matter-of-factly. hah.

She did end up inviting me over but it was only like noon and I was still enjoying my down time. She said el compa wasn’t coming over until 2ish so I procrastinated. My mom took our house guest and went shopping so I stayed home on my own. So relaxing! I needed some time to myself.

Eventually I got up to do some laundry so that I could at least be productive in that sense. Was working on finishing my 2nd load when she texted me again to say the food was ready. I had about 10 minutes left on it and I’d already taken a shower so I wrapped everything up and got ready to head over.

As this was happening I got a text from el compa asking if I was at work. Nope. Are you home? Maybe… Come over to your neighbours. Shots? I might be interested in that Might? sigh Hurry up and come by Don’t rush me!

I was already scooping homemade salsa into a jar for them and grabbing my newly acquired bottle of jager from the freezer to head that way. He just didn’t know I was already planning to go over apparently.

Nice of him to invite too. I honestly thought things had ended kinda awkwardly with us the other day after I told him he was being replaced. I was definitely waiting for him to text me first to be sure. I’m glad he sent the text before I went over too. It might have been weird to walk in there with things left the way they were. At least for me. I doubt he would care.

I found L sitting in the front room when I got there and we walked straight to the kitchen. The guys got up from the couch and we all took a shot. haha. I wasn’t hungry when I got there so I just went straight to drinking. Had a fancy IPA that L drinks. I was still in lazy don’t want to move mode when I got there so I was mostly just leaning over the kitchen counter trying to convince myself I needed to stay awake.

I wasn’t in there for long before Dev dragged me over to the front room to watch him play some Jurassic park lego video game. L came and played for a little while and then left when the basketball game started. I tried to go too but Dev wouldn’t let me. He literally grabbed my hood and pulled me back down onto the couch several times. haha. I texted her in the other room to tell her I couldn’t leave and that he was too cute to sneak away from. 😝

Eventually el compa walked into the room and asked Dev if he could borrow me for a little while. He said no right away. But after a little begging he finally let me go. haha. I followed this dude into the kitchen where he of course wanted to take a shot. Apparently that’s all we do together. hah. Like I think standing in that kitchen yesterday, just the two of us, was the first time I’ve sorta had a conversation with him.

It was slightly awkward. I don’t know what to say to him and I’m so quiet around people I don’t know very well. He’s not one of those crazy outgoing people either, at least not yet around me, so it’s not like I can let him fill the void with his endless chatter. I mean, I wouldn’t really want that anyway. But I guess it depends on what they go on about. Also, it’s helpful for me to have an extrovert around because it helps to pull me from my shell. It wasn’t terrible or anything. He asked me about my day and what I’d been up to. That sorta small talk. He also brought up the whole replacing him thing. hah. I told him it was already done so there was nothing he could do. He’s too busy and I’m over there all the time. We were about to take shots so I told him to take it already so that he can feel better and quit being sad. It was official.

At some point during this conversation, or maybe a separate one later, L got up to get some more tacos so I took the opportunity to eat as well. I’d stopped drinking because I was getting tipsy. I hadn’t had anything to eat since breakfast that morning so I definitely needed a snack. All I got was a plate of meat to heat up and L warmed a couple tortillas for me. El compa brought some salsa and they were telling me how it had a good kick and was pretty spicy. Ok. If you say so. I put a big spoonful on each of my tacos and decided it was worth the risk. It didn’t look/smell spicy at all.

And I was right. I ate the first taco and it was basically tomato sauce. haha. I ended up adding another heaping spoonful on the 2nd taco. All while el compa watched me eat. Which I find sorta creepy. I hate people watching me eat. It makes me super self conscious! I did notice that I must feel quite comfortable with him though because it didn’t bother me that much. I still shoved the taco into my face to devour it’s deliciousness. haha!
I gave him a hard time though. I could see him watching me out of the corner of my eye and I was telling him to stop it. That I wasn’t going to cry from the salsa. I told him several times to stop and kept turning around so he couldn’t see me. It was all kinda funny really. And he did turn around to face away while I ate the second one. In my mind I kept thinking about how maybe he was enjoying watching me eat. haha. Also, now that I think about it, I’m not sure I’ve ever eaten in front of him. Besides doughnuts. hah. I tend to be on a “liquid diet” when I go over there. 🤣

It was an interesting interaction to say the least. He called me “guerita” during the salsa talk, which could be offensive but I find it kinda endearing. ha. 🤷‍♀️ I gave him a hard time about it anyway. Just because it’s fun to give him a hard time! So I kept throwing it in his face that this “guerita” eats spicier food than they do.

Still not sure about that guy but I’m having fun hanging out. He eventually passed out on the couch and then when L and I started watching a movie the guys moved to the other room. Next thing I know I could hear him snoring and H had disappeared to his room. Poor boys. Can’t handle their liquor at all! I don’t even know how many shots I ended up having. I stopped keeping track. I know I only had one beer and the rest was jager. Maybe like 4-5 and a couple shots just on the rocks as a drink. 😬 That’s probably close enough.

After the movie was over [A star is born - while I cuddled their cute boxer puppy that came to sit with me!] I finally got up to come home. It was so late! Like 11:30pm and I’d been there since about 3pm. I didn’t mean to stay that late and wouldn’t if it weren’t for that movie. But I was also having fun and super relaxed.

I texted the compa after I got home. On my way out L had grabbed the beer from his hand and thrown a cute pink blanket on him. haha. So I texted him good night and thanked him for walking me home. 🙄 He’d insisted he was going to when I first got there. I told him I had to be able to stumble home, so was taking it easy on drinks, and he said he would walk me. I said with him in charge we’d both get lost. hah. And he told me a bunch of times it was fine because he’d get me home. So much for that…

He must have woken up when all this happened because he texted me back not long after and we continued to text until almost 1am. I’m pretty sure he got up and went home because I heard a loud truck and there was a break in texting long enough for him to drive home. haha. He must have gone to bed, which was fine by me because I’d been about to sleep when he first responded.
Then I woke up around 5ish and was pretty much awake from there. I was literally thinking about him texting me back when my phone buzzed just before 6. I replied and we’ve done a little back and forth throughout the day. I might end up working with him for actual work stuff but not sure yet.

I’m trying really hard to get this done before bed. It’s been a long day. I’m so sleepy. I wasn’t quite hung over this morning but I was definitely thirsty and didn’t get nearly enough sleep. I haven’t been up texting anyone like that in a while. Probably won’t happen again for a while. Going to go back to “do not disturb” at night. haha. I’m pretty sure he sleeps early anyway because he gets up so dang early. The weekends are a fluke.

So yeah, I’m going to get ready for bed. If I forgot anything I’ll try to add it in later when I actually go back over this.

rose.
10:27pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.