consolation valentine in 2019

  • Feb. 15, 2019, 8:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

4:07pm

Well, I opened this window about an hour ago to talk about how I’d somehow volunteered myself to babysit my neighbour’s three kids tonight after work, but then I went to have some lunch and when I walked back up front I found a text from her saying she wasn’t going out after all. hmm…ok then. Nevermind.

I was actually kinda looking forward to it. =| The kids basically take care of themselves and they’re super easy going. I know I would basically walk over there and hang out on the couch all evening watching TV. Probably mix in some dinosaur play with the little one and/or board games. Then they’d take themselves off to bed and I would just sit there until the adults came home from their night on the town. It would give me something to joke about for my Valentine’s Day and it might have been fun. So I’m a little bummed out.

I guess I’ll have to go find some other cute valentine’s to hang out with. Except the reality is I’ll go home after work, make a drink, and hang out on my own couch until bed. sigh

I’d jokingly asked her last night if el compa was going to cook dinner tonight. She said he normally does but I guess not this year. Of course! Now that I’m the new neighbour and always sneaking over there the dude decides not to cook! Just my luck.

This whole babysitting thing started this morning when I wished her a happy valentine’s day and she said they had had reservations but it was too hard to find a sitter and drive out to the restaurant. I thought it over and figured why not? So I offered to stay with them after work as long as they were home by midnight. It’s not like it makes a difference for me whether I sit on their couch or mine. hah!

She didn’t respond right away so I assumed she was talking to H about it. Then a little later I got a text asking if I really would sit for them. Sure! and we started planning it out. I wouldn’t even have to feed them. Basically just make sure they don’t burn the house down. haha. I promised I wouldn’t drink and pass out on the couch and told them to leave me snacks. Also that they could bring me a gift or leftovers. It was all set!!

So yeah, I’m bummed out, but oh well. Maybe next time. shrug

My across the street neighbour A did stop by the office and give us a little box of chocolates this morning. She said it was because we do such nice things for them. That was sweet. Her boyfriend J mowed our lawn on Monday after he realized how busy we were at the office. So all good things happening all around the neighbourhood. =)

It would be nice to go out and have a couple drinks tonight and mindlessly talk about life but I can’t think of anyone to go with. The client might be up for it but ehh…I don’t want to get his hopes up that it means anything and honestly he’s not the best conversationalist. It would probably be me sitting there drinking and daydreaming about being anywhere else while he goes on and on about some work thing. Ugh. I hate that I feel that way about him/our time together, but I can’t help it!


Well sht. I should probably eat my words because this dude just freaken showed up at my office with a bouquet of flowers for me and a beautiful plant for my mom!
F
ck! Why do I not like him more!?!?


I totally got busy closing up the office and forgot to post this after I got home. Well by “forgot” I mean I didn’t even get on my phone/computer because I ended up going over to the neighbours anyway. I was complaining about not having a Valentine anymore and they asked if I wanted to be theirs and invited me for dinner. haha. I was supposed to bring drinks but only ended up finding some random cold beers [I haven’t been drinking beer or to the store! hah]. I really needed the distraction though so I went over with what I had.

They fed me some amazing steak [even better than el compa’s!], asparagus, and corn bread. Henry was in charge of the meal and he did an excellent job. I wasn’t even going to eat since I’d had late lunch but after the first taste test I let them twist my arm to sit down with the plate he made me. It was cool too because the entire family sat down at the table which they apparently hardly ever do. They have crazy schedules so usually the kids eat and then the adults later when they’re both home. So it was really nice to be a part of that.

Tons of laughs as per usual. And L and I ended up going to the store to buy a bottle of jager because H and I have been talking about that forever. Man, I forgot how much I missed jager. It is soooo delicious! I was floating on air by the time I left there. Mostly from being so happy and content. I like them a lot. I honestly can’t remember the last time I got along so damn well with people. It’s seriously like I just fit right in perfectly.

I told them that I was going to go ahead and take el compa’s place at their house. He’s super busy these days anyway so he doesn’t have time to hang. They said how weird it is that he doesn’t come over randomly anymore and usually only on weekends now. I ended up texting him to tell him that I’d replaced him and after I got home I got some obama meme basically saying “have at it.” I told him that I thought he’d put up more of a fight and that he’s been nice but I thought they needed some new female energy. This morning I woke up to the text: That’s cool. Best of luck
Geez. Ok. Kind of aggressive but whatever. I don’t really think I pissed him off but it sorta felt that way so I didn’t even respond back. He’s so strange. Like he’s the one that got my number and started texting me. He’s the one that kept inviting me over for drinks or to eat. But now he’s being all weird and squirrely. I can’t stand that. I’m so sick of people messing around with me. Either you’re interested in getting to know me or you’re not, but don’t waste my time. Even if it’s just friends or otherwise.

Ugh. Clearly that’s a sore spot for me. Moving on.

I don’t know what the hell to do about the client and I’m not sure I want to put much thought into it anyway. He told me I was beautiful and that I deserved the flowers [and holy cow he spent a lot of money on them! silly guy left the tags - maybe on purpose] and why the hell am I not swooning all over him, I have no idea!

I better wrap this up and post because I’m getting ready to leave the office and I might get distracted again.
Oh! I should be going to pick up that medication I’m going to inject into my leg tonight. I’ll be back to talk about that experience for sure!

rose.
5:34pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.