Feb. 13 - Acrostic in Posso's Prompts

  • Feb. 14, 2019, 2:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Acrostic (n:) a poem, word puzzle, or other composition in which certain letters in each line form a word or words.

I wrote this weeks ago, when I was still sad about being single and alone and before I knew the word for what I was doing.

I knew before it happened that I wrecked it,
so much so that I figured I had better take the blame
The timing wasn’t right, you said.
I couldn’t be more of a mess, I said.
Let’s give it some distance if you can’t live without me and
learn to love ourselves before we commit to each other
lest we make the same mistake once again and fight
over who loves who more and what the other
viewed as just something we did wrong.
Every time I think of us now, I realize that if I had accepted
your kindness and compassion more than being closed and cold,
only you might have just taken that chance on me.
Until I decided that I had to push you away to save both of us did it
kill everything about us that we both loved and it is clear now
you never deserved that and rightfully so but
looking back on all I said and did wrong towards you,
I realized that I never acted deserving of you,
even though you took a chance on me.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.