Tip on replying in Tips and Tricks

  • July 17, 2013, 12:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There's something on Facebook that drives me batshit crazy. You leave a comment to someone who has, oh, like 500 "friends". And for the rest of time and all eternity, you get notified whenever somebody else comments on the post you commented on. I'm sure there's a way to switch these notifications off but I haven't ever bothered to find it.

So in designing Prosebox, I decided to limit comment notifications only to the person you are replying to. Cool, right?

But I've noticed there's a natural tendency for people to reply to their own comments. If you think of something else to say and then add another reply, it's usually in reply to the comment you are adding on to.

Ah, but as far as Prosebox is concerned, at this point you are having a conversation with yourself. In fact, it will happily notify you that you have a new comment from you. If you have multiple personalities, this is a really cool feature.

But for most people, it's probably not what you want. If you want multiple comments to show up in a person's comment listing, be sure to reply to their comment directly each time and not your own. :)


simple mind July 17, 2013

Great post, simple mind!

simple mind simple mind ⋅ July 17, 2013

Thanks, simple mind! You are the coolest.

simple mind simple mind ⋅ July 17, 2013

Awww shucks. So are you, simple mind.

Krud simple mind ⋅ July 20, 2013

So, this comment. Which simple mind will it go to, the first one, or the second or third one?

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ August 16, 2013

Agreed.

cyndication July 17, 2013

I've always loved for my Notes - now Comments - to be interactive. I want to let everybody discuss with one another or do the same. So, now, let's say DE leaves a comment for YOU - now he can see if I respond to his Comment on your entry. We never had that before. I like!

simple mind cyndication ⋅ July 17, 2013

Yeah, I was hoping threaded comments would lead to better socializing. Another cool thing I like... you can reply privately to someone's comment on the entry and it's even hidden from the entry owner.

Decayed Elvis simple mind ⋅ July 18, 2013

I like pie.

Deleted user July 17, 2013

Woot!

Rick July 22, 2013

Since I do not have multiple personalities (anymore, that is!) I am thankful for this tip. :)

Deleted user August 03, 2013

Awesome. Love it.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ August 03, 2013

Ooooh... I should probably update this one... I removed reply buttons from your own comments so it's really not even an issue any more. :)

colour of water simple mind ⋅ August 06, 2013

Yeah cool but which simple mind did that?

Deleted user August 16, 2013

I love it just because you used my favorite term "batshit crazy"!!!

Swirly Girl August 20, 2013

How do I add pics to my prosebook

cricket_factor October 20, 2013

I just wanted to say that the comment function is awesome. I've been having a long conversation today based on previous comments, and this is one FANTASTIC option you offer us here. THANK YOU!

Deleted user October 23, 2013

" If you have multiple personalities, this is a really cool feature"

The other voices will be so excited! J/k! I just thought that was hilarious.

Complicated Disaster February 21, 2014

There seems to be a limit to the nesting depth of comments??

Mari' Emeraude March 01, 2014

Wait. I'm still trying to maneuver my way around in here. How do I reply to a comment that was sent to me? I'm not seeing where to do that? (or is it because of someone's settings that I'm not seeing how? )

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.