Impressions of Prosebox in Life

  • Feb. 12, 2019, 5:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

How you compare to LiveJournal
The Good
1. Smaller
2. Arguably overall more mature
3. Entry Organization Options
4. Not owned by Russians nor used for political dogma

Desired Improvements (in order of preference)
1. Real Profile Page
2. Hard drive image uploading
3. Personal Customization options:
downloadable wallpaper
font recolor (even the Crayola 8 would be nice)
button options for underline, strikethrough, and indent

Or a block quote might do I suppose

4. Communities (though might detract from good points 1 & 2)

*

Dear Gregory,

I have been with Prosebox three days now and it is good.
With the exception of the FAQ, which is broken, it is user friendly and simple.
I however am careless, posting when first decompressing from work; when tense and sloppy.
I keep screwing up the little things; sadly I am not a detail-oriented person.
Oops.

Besides, I paid for the LJ.
I get that makes a difference in feature availability and resources.


Deleted user February 12, 2019

What's wrong with Russians

Siraka Deleted user ⋅ February 12, 2019

As a culture? Nothing wrong at all.
Hosting my net community? I suppose because I don't speak Russian I perceive a barrier there.

Deleted user Siraka ⋅ February 12, 2019

Are people only posting in Russian

Siraka Deleted user ⋅ February 12, 2019

Since Russia bought the website, yep it went that way. And lots of Russian spammy bots too. blerg

Deleted user Siraka ⋅ February 12, 2019

Ugh annoying

Deleted user Siraka ⋅ February 12, 2019

Every now and then I want to go to a different website but it's just I can't find one I've tried most of them so I just stay around here

Siraka Deleted user ⋅ February 13, 2019

So you aren't new here? I looked at your entries yesterday but saw only two. Then I got pulled away and was going to go back. I hope everything is well.

Deleted user Siraka ⋅ February 13, 2019

No I've been around since everybody made the migration over here from open diary I've just had a few different accounts I always use my same name and I delete a lot of entries

Cat Mommy February 12, 2019

We have a real profile page. Confused. As for downloadable wallpaper and font colours I would say forget it. This place was created for people who don't want crazy unreadable journals and those options create those problems. Totally agree about needing those buttons added though!

Siraka Cat Mommy ⋅ February 12, 2019

When I select Prosebox's Profile up pops a page with journal entries, a pic, a blurb, and a quote.
I am accustomed to the profile page being a getting-to-know-you snapshot and to the journal entries being separate. This was advantageous especially for people looking for a personal overview and served to welcome new friends.
Again, Prosebox is just fine. But I did like that option.
What I was accustomed to had the following:
Pic - here too
Name - here too
Journal Summary Sentence - nope
Journal Creation & Last Updated dates - not that I recall
Location - nope
Contact Info - nope
500-word Bio - nope
500-word Blurb - here too
Quote - here too
Interests List - nope
Community Links - nope
Podcast Links - nope

About Wallpapers: Point taken. But if not wallpapers then a lefthand image sidebar would be nice. It would be a single personalized visual that'd make the page homier.
About Color: I stand by the Crayola 8. :)
Red, Orange, Gold, Green, Blue, Purple, Brown, Black - not my idea of wild, and useful given the lack of ability to indent

Deleted user February 12, 2019

I like your suggestion of communities. And as I have said I would like to see searchable hashtags.

Siraka Deleted user ⋅ February 13, 2019

I have never completely understood hashtags. The tag part I understand, but the # part has me stumped. Is it because when a person tweets or something like that the salient point gets lost? Or is it more when texting that things go ajumble? I have not tweeted, nor Facebooked or Myspaced. My net experience predates those venues and for whatever reason the ick factor was flagged when they were born. I am terribly outdated.

woman in the moon February 13, 2019

I used to fool around on Open Diary with my front page, changing big photo and background and font colors for the seasons. I think I changed the name of the diary too. But I don't have the patience to write here, let alone change the front page seasonally.
I appreciate your evaluation.

Siraka woman in the moon ⋅ February 13, 2019

Just curious, why did you leave Open Diary? And why do you stay here if it does not inspire you to write?

woman in the moon Siraka ⋅ February 14, 2019

I write both places 'once in a while'. I wrote here every day in November (that month) and most days in December and then suddenly lost interest. I miss my photography. I often posted to post photos. Various things have changed and no longer take or post very many photos. I should write about that maybe.
Are you a long time diary writer/blogger?

Siraka woman in the moon ⋅ February 17, 2019

Oh, do you NaNo in November?
It seems to be the worst month for me to turbo write.
I should do some version of it this spring maybe.
Of course it's nice to have the shared support and commiseration available.
We'll see.

Writing yes, since early childhood, but very sporadically.
I allowed some harsh critics to steal my joy (read high school and college) and dropped the hobby for a long while .
Haven't yet rediscovered that joy, but for the first time in years I am earnest about getting back to it.

Blogging I’ve probably done since before the word blog existed.
Although I'm still not entirely sure what constitutes a blog, so maybe not. :)

I would enjoy seeing photos if you pick it up again.

LoveSuicide February 17, 2019

I found LiveJournal not community-based at all in the sense that no one ever seemed to stumble across others unless through a community they shared. There's so much more randomized noting and reading here that I appreciate in the way OD used to be the same.

However, agree wholeheartedly on the profile page! And for options to join communities and list interests and..

What sort of work leaves you sloppy?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.