FAMILIES in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 12, 2019, 12:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

2006: Megan, Alex, and G behind them.

We all have families of origin, but many of us have families of choice also.

My immediate family of origin included my mother, Gunny – my father, Grandma Maudie and Gimpa, Mother’s father. My father and mother were alcoholics. My family of choice will always include my Grandma Maudie and Cousin Tom….wonderful loving people. It also includes aa family of choice: Don DeLlamas, Bobbie M, Katy, Tommy D, Joleen Mc, Timothy M, Linda R, and Sandy. There were other’s; artists all. I wouldn’t be alive today if it weren’t for this family of choice.

Alex has a much more complicated family. He has a birth mother and all that brings with it…which includes us. He has a large and delightful, adoptive family of origin of a Mom and Dad plus wonderful adoptive and not adoptive sisters and brothers, nieces and nephews, and their kids. He has a supportive extended family of Army friends and work friends too.

Now there is Max and his mom….an extended family and extended culture too.

2010: Sister Megan, Brother Alex, and Sister Zoe.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Consenting to see the doctor.

  • Myself: Feeling vastly better but still coughing. Knee MRI at 2. First good pictures of Max on Facebook today.

  • Photo: Both by me.

  • Reading: Finishing the last Brandsetter mystery. Hansen made these characters real, and I am going to miss them.

  • Gratitude’s: That I am getting better and the meat loaf was a winner.


Hillbilly Princess February 12, 2019

❤🧡💛💚💙💜

Deleted user February 12, 2019

Families have so many stories...Those we were born to and those we chose.

aunty EM February 13, 2019

It's good that you still have a connection with this guy!

NorthernSeeker February 13, 2019

The family of choice is key to me.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 13, 2019

Me too.

gattaca February 13, 2019

Family is the glue that holds all of us together.

MageB gattaca ⋅ February 13, 2019

The problem with my family of choice is that only two are still alive.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.