BETTER EVERY DAY NOW in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 7, 2019, 11:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

2018: Bobbie, and see if this photo shows up. My fault.

• I awoke this morning thinking I was going to live.

• I read Ronni’s blog and realize her last chemo didn’t work. I get a message from Pam, who we don’t see enough of now, that they are going to have a party for Poolie’s birthday. We are going to miss it because of another useless business meeting. I’d far, far rather be at Poolie’s party.

• George has almost finished that scroll box for Bobbie. Weeks and weeks of innovative work. He loves doing this stuff. I urge him to go back to woodworking school now that he’s 65. He keeps on working with numbers so he can collect his full Social Security.

• It really is 34 degrees out there. Not quite freezing, but you wouldn’t have known it this morning. The heater wouldn’t run. Lowest possible bidder got the job here, but G ran up and down stairs, and up and outside, while switching things on and off until it finally kicked in. After a while, 62 degrees seems nice and warm.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: His day is going well, but I feel so sorry for him when trainees can’t seem to learn how to do things.

  • Myself: Coughing less at last. I can’t tell you how grateful I am.

  • Photo: Me: 2018.

  • Reading: Brandsetter 10. I really care for these fictional characters.

  • Gratitude’s: Feeling slightly better at last. That I have time to play with some older photos.


Last updated February 08, 2019


Hillbilly Princess February 07, 2019

🦄

Zipster February 07, 2019

I'm glad that you are finally on the mend. These viruses seem to have such a grip on us for so long! I can't believe how cold it is; my husband finally gave me permission to run the heat so I don't have to shiver all day long. I find when my nose is cold, I'm cold, no matter the number of layers.

MageB Zipster ⋅ February 07, 2019

Why do you have to ask him? Yes, shivering doesn't make it.

Zipster MageB ⋅ February 07, 2019

I didn't ask him we both just try to be mindful because our SDG&E bills have been unreasonably high. I usually try to only heat the room I'm in with a small space heater, but I sort of felt that since we have a gas furnace that ultimately that might be cheaper. So after that conversation he just said turn on the heat we'll find a way to deal with the cost.

aunty EM February 08, 2019

My dear husband is a US Navy veteran. He used to say the coldest he ever was in his life was doing morning watch at boot camp in SD when the fog rolled in. But that was before he went to work in the oil patch 24/7 for 26 years in North Dakota! LOL I hope this cold spell is a short one for us all!

MageB aunty EM ⋅ February 08, 2019

When I was a kid, all the local farms had smudge pots so their growing things didn't die. I'm much closer to the ocean now, but we seem colder here.

ODSago February 08, 2019

Wow! It was 81 here, which was amazing of course. G. is so talented. That photo just drips with personality. I so like her face.

Deleted user February 08, 2019

12F here today and maybe - 10F tomorrow. I am not going out anywhere !! Yuck . I hate this time of year !

Marg February 10, 2019

So glad you're finally feeling a bit better - that was a really nasty virus you had this time!

NorthernSeeker February 10, 2019

Coughing can really lead to some aches and pains. I hope you continue to feel better.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.