Typhoid Mary in Everyday Musings of a Very Tired Mama

  • Feb. 2, 2019, 5:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That is my nickname lately. I blame Boo. She got sick first. Thankfully neither Babe nor Pickle has gotten sick. Yesterday was miserable. I walked Pickle to school and it was okay but as the day wore on, I just got so weak and so miserable. If I had $50 to my name I would have paid someone to pick him up. Picking him up was tough. With a congested chest, my lungs were just not happy.
So then I had to feed everyone while Boo decided not to nap and Pickle was his typical off the wall self. Gave Boo some nighttime medicine at 4 and got her into bed at 6. I parked myself on the big comfy chair with Kleenex and water (didn’t even have my 2nd coffee of the day I was so sick) and didn’t move until 8 oclock when I went to bed. I slept for almost 12 hours. Boo slept for 14 hours. We both woke up feeling much better. I feel like I’m back to 75%.
Went to the library today to return Pickle’s books. I checked out some for me. I haven’t read books for leisure in so long, yet I waste time playing games on my Kindle. So I’m going to start reading more. Forgot how much I missed it.
Got my first rejection for a satire piece I submitted to an online satire site. Also didn’t win the 53 word story contest for January. They only pick one winner–I can’t imagine how hard that is to do, especially when there are so many entries. I wish I could know how high I got. February’s prompt is Taking the High Road. I’m tossing it over in my head, but nothing has come to me so far. It’s due by the 21st. Still waiting for another online site to accept or reject a satire piece.
Pickle’s friendship with the boy (we’ll call him ‘H’) across the street continues to flourish. I’ve connected with one of his dads and we text back and forth a little. Turns out his youngest daughter is also on the spectrum, so H is familiar with the type of tendencies Pickle has. H came over Thursday and ended up staying and helping Pickle with his homework. I think Pickle connects better with kids that are older than him, but the downside is that he’s been asking for a phone now. Umm dude, you’re 5.
Went to Women’s Group Thursday. I hadn’t been in several weeks. Truthfully there is someone in the group that I don’t quite trust so I don’t feel like I can open up. I have heard her talk about other people in the group when they’re not around so of course I have to wonder what she says about me. Women’s group was formed with people from our church. Its tough because we haven’t been able to go to church in over a month because Pickle has become too hard to handle there, since he never sits still and they don’t have Sunday school. H and his family go to a church very close to us that Babe and I used to go to pre-kids. They have a nursery and Sunday school. I think we’re going to go tomorrow.
Pickle has gotten so bad about wetting his pants during the day that I started putting him in Pullups pretty much 24/7. We have an appointment with a urologist on the 18th to rule out any medical conditions he might have. Once I know how we need to proceed, the Pullups will go away. I hate that he’s almost 6 and wears Pullups, but unless he’s sitting on the toilet 24/7 he will not stay dry.
The psychologist that Pickle’s psychiatrist referred us to called me back to talk about testing for Pickle. Unfortunately our insurance doesn’t cover it until we meet our deductible which is $5000.00. That’s never going to happen so out of pocket is $800.00 I swear to God, sometimes I don’t even know why we have insurance. Of course people on Medicaid have it covered. Bunch of bullshit. So when we go back to the psychiatrist on the 26th I’m going to see if she can prescribe something based on her best guess of what is going on. Aside from the ASD that will be tested in July, she is thinking ADHD or anxiety disorder. So maybe she will agree to put him on an anti-anxiety med and just see how it goes.
I never know how to end these entries. I always had a hard time with conclusion paragraphs in school papers too so apparently it hasn’t gotten any better.
Ciao.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.