WORN OUT SHOES in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 2, 2019, 11:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


On my old drawing board stool.

Illness. That’s all the sickie can talk about….how they feel, are they getting worse, are they getting better….that sort of thing. It’s boring. It’s like having an old pair of shoes that meant the world to you before you put them away in the closet. When they came out, they were hard edged and hurt your feet and your hands. No matter what you did you couldn’t get them on again. For a while, that’s all you could talk about, and no one wanted to listen.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Rather than be kept up all night, he slept uncomfortably downstairs on the sofa.

  • Myself: I got some sleep at last. Eyes going down the tubes. Much stronger glasses in the offing, but I can still drive if carefully. Cataract surgery very soon.

  • Drawing: Me.

  • Reading: Brandsetter…I really recommend these.

  • Gratitude’s: That I am upright


Deleted user February 02, 2019

Yikes! Feel better today !!

gattaca February 02, 2019

I empathize.
I have a tendency to fall down for no reason at all. Face-planted while I was taking out the trash to the curb last Monday. Perfectly flat and level surface. #KlutzBoy

woman in the moon February 02, 2019

Sisterinlaw has had cataract surgery on both eyes, perfect vision now, other things wrong but she can see.
Every year I remember Feb. 3, Feast of St. Blaise, when the Catholics had the blessing of the throats. My mother would have us go if we were sickly. The priest puts crossed candles on either side of your neck and says a blessing. Wouldn't hurt.

MageB woman in the moon ⋅ February 02, 2019

No, it wouldn't hurt.

Marg February 03, 2019

Love the analogy, love the drawing and love this entry! Hope you feel much better soon!

NorthernSeeker February 06, 2019

I love your drawings and I'm sorry that you are feeling so terrible.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.