The Comfort of Routine in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 2, 2019, 10:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

They are saying we may have snow on Monday but for now…First we had snowdrops, and then crocuses and now daffodils as well as some fragrant bushes that are a gift to one’s passing senses.

It is raining now and as I managed to get my cardio during the day I get to chill this evening. Well I could do chores but…

I have been teaching glutes all week (the big muscles in one’s derriere) with the focus on activating them to help support our lower backs. I am a little sore and may take my library thriller to read in the bathtub.

Yesterday I had a meeting alone with my boss to talk about my job, his request. It was very confusing and kind of icky and I came home last night and ate a bit too much and went to bed super early. You know, your typical adult mature response to stress.

From what I can tell, my compensation is going to stay the same for the duration of my employment but my job responsibilities are going to be cut back incrementally. Not my workload, mind you, my autonomy and responsibilities.

Saint Joe is not going to transition into his big promotion for months but is going to be given more and more responsibility. But not my responsibilities. They are going somewhere else with people that may or may not do them.

Clear as mud.

If I want to stop working overtime and get a bonus for my last year I have to put together some sort of package that says I will do such and such a project on top of the regular workload that will improve productivity by such and such a percentage blah, metrics, blah.

I need to try to get clear on this somehow in the next few weeks. They are not going to offer me a package to leave early and I didn’t say a word about the discrimination I feel.

The appointment with the union counselor is the Monday after next. I am going to talk to her about strategically what to do about the discrimination. Apparently these days there is only a 50% chance a worker will get to retire when they planned to and that at this point is my first priority.

Anyway, it is the weekend and I just signed up for four 3 hour workshops for yoga teachers this spring that should be an opportunity to hang out with other teachers and interact with them and will be something to look forward to. The cool thing is that they are at a local studio I can walk to! Yippee.

There is a lot of drug related and mentally ill activity happening in my neighborhood. Garbage strewn all over the place, weird garbage, people camping out on porches of empty places at night, yesterday there was a person of indeterminate gender hanging out in this weird tilted listlessness that looked remarkably like a zombie a couple of blocks away that totally creeped me out.

If this gets worse I am not going to be able to stay here.

Don’t tell the cats that, okay? I hope this is just a phase.

The plan is to walk in the fog in the morning with Frida and Mrs. Sherlock after the gym and then grocery shopping for essentials in case of snow.

It might not sound very exciting but at this point, anything that is not work is looking pretty darn good.


Lyn February 02, 2019

Love your remarkable attitude.

Marg February 02, 2019

50%?? Wow that's a bit of a shocker! What a frustrating meeting that must have been with your boss - doesn't help the situation at all.
We had snow overnight but nothing like some parts of the world are experiencing.
That's sad about the neighbourhood - hope it's not a sign of the times!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.