January 28th in Posso's Prompts

  • Jan. 29, 2019, 8:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do you have a guilty pleasure TV show? Why?

After work last night, I raced home to catch the end of the WWE Royal Rumble. I know. I’m 33. Wrestling’s fake. It doesn’t stop me from being completely captivated and enamored with the concept of telling a story through slaps and DDTs. There were dreams of being the next Stone Cold Steve Austin when I was young. I can’t help but be sucked in whenever they bring in a washed up superstar from the early 90s - This year it was Jeff Jarrett. Jarrett was a personified singing cowboy with a penchant for taking an acoustic guitar and breaking it over his opponents back before taunting them and pinning them. Being able to recite the catch phrases, the mantras, the walking human tag lines - there is something about it that just can’t be explained. I will forever be a fan of wrestling. Physical story telling. A play with punches. I always was a fan of acting and drama but to add a physical sense to it was always something I wanted to do but never did because ‘mom and dad said no goddamnit.’ These days the stories get even more complex; intergender wrestling is becoming more and more sought after. It won’t matter how old I get, I will always have a place for wrestling in my crusty old heart.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.