Settling Down, Settling In in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 24, 2019, 4:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So not great picture taking weather lately…. This is another statue from our walk last weekend. Because my nose has been running during our colder weather I felt an affinity for the raindrops precariously perched on her face. I liked this part of the statue but she is bending down holding the hands of a toddler and that part didn’t appeal to me so much. It is not that I have anything against toddlers; it was the way this one was depicted.

Saint Joe took the day off to go to the auto show. Luckily it has been pretty quiet. I have discovered now that I have my hearing aids that he mutters to himself when he is concentrating; almost sub vocally. I had no idea. But I find it kind of funny.

All four of the students that have been in touch and said they would be back in class have come back. I like my students and am thrilled to have them back. But one in particular, my former IT guy, who no longer works for the same institution is someone I really missed. He came back with his partner last night and he had texted me that he was having some physical problems.

He’s not in very good shape at all. He had a recent fall and I am wondering if there was a concussion. He is, I am happy to say; pursuing additional care but it was a bit wrenching to see him so vulnerable.

He fell asleep during the rest period at the end of class, he was snoring, it was hard to miss. I am so glad he felt relaxed enough to do that.

He told me this story when he arrived in the room I am teaching in about what he shared with his current coworkers about my history as he headed off to return to class. It was this pocket synopsis of my travails at work over the last 10 years! It was so good to hear someone just say how weird and unfair it has all been and it made me laugh.

There is something so powerful in having the truth of a thing just put out there in plain language.

I was in the office today for half the day and no one spoke to me. No one even looked at me. It is like I am a ghost, or a shunned horse or…it is just so weird.

The union supported counselor’s admin person finally got in touch with me and I have an appointment the week after next. I also have a one on one meeting scheduled next Thursday with my boss to talk about my “role” for the last year of my employment, which starts in July.

That should be interesting.

Kes came up Tuesday and instead of going shopping at a mall, we did a little online shopping but mostly hung out and talked. We had lunch too.

It was so nice to spend some quality time with her.

We are doing another beach getaway in April but I haven’t seen her much lately.

The blood work my regular doctor ordered came back in the normal range and I was kind of hoping that I was done with appointments for now. I am going to tell her that when I see her to talk about the MRI results in a few weeks. I have one more follow up appointment for my ears and then if the gods are willing nothing even vaguely medical for months!

Things are finally settling down after the disruption of the studio closing and the changes at work and getting the hearing aids and the testing and…

Now all we need to do is get the government reopened. What a stupid frustrating mess. No matter how bizarre my work situation is at least I am getting paid!


Last updated January 24, 2019


toddslife January 24, 2019

nice photos

Zipster January 24, 2019

How nice to have your travails confirmed by a witness! Validation! Funny, when I read "What a stupid, frustrating mess" I saw it as "What a stupid, frustrating man." Uh, yeah...

Lyn January 24, 2019

Love the photo.

So odd that you have. disappeared at work.

Wishing you well with your meetings.

Marg January 26, 2019

I love how the drips on the statue make it look like she's crying!
It must be horrible to have to work in that environment but how nice to know that it hasn't been going unnoticed! Not that that's much help though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.