"I'LL NEVER BE YOU" in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • Jan. 24, 2019, 6:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not sorry
for keeping my distance
from the very beginning

You’ve already showed me
your false courtesy
your later cold hostility

You may be the life of the party
Many guys might find you sexy
Perhaps I do have the slight envy

However, I’ll never be you
I don’t even want to
I ain’t got nothing to prove

You may interrupt rudely
the conversation between him and me
running your fingers through his hair and jaw
disregarding my whole existence
as you demand for his attention

I know he’s nobody’s boyfriend
so I keep my polite smile frozen
as I stay in complete silence
because I know you try too hard
which is kind of sad

Well-dressed up for this party
yet I can tell you’re still lonely
even with anybody

Me?
I’m just as good as can be
even when nobody thinks I’m pretty

I don’t dress to impress
I know it never really lasts
I don’t know you
Maybe I don’t have to

However, I still detest your attitude
Girlfriend, you’re being rude
That’s no good

R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.