I got the keys, keys, keys in Adventures in paradise

  • Jan. 21, 2019, 7:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just a quick entry, because I am run off my feet.

We got the keys today!

Holy fuck. We got the keys.

so far today, I’ve met up with Phil to sign and witness each others forms, confirmed with the property managers that our funds went through, handed in a gazillion forms, scanned and photographed every nook and cranny of the new apartment and wrote down everything we could see that wasn’t our fault (they’re going to think we’re nuts but better safe than sorry!) and I’ve booked a hire car and moved two loads of my shit in to the new apartment.
It’s so exciting. Phil (my new roomie!) and I couldn’t contain our excitement and gave each other a big hug by the pool. I was so sweaty by that stage that I wanted to jump right in. Such a hot day again today, and in that carpark, my hire car was telling me it was 40 degrees.
Combine that with going up and down in an elevator about 15 times (not kidding) to the 18th level and back down, I’m pretty sure I have a case of vertigo.
So I’m back at my now old place, writing and trying to relax a little. I still have more shit to take there and am doing it whilst everyone’s asleep.
The bed will be the tricky part. It looks like I’ll need to try and hire a cage ute and get it thre before 4:45pm, because they close the doors then for some reason. It doesn’t make a whole lot of sense but hey, regulations, yay! So I need to get a ute, get my bed into it, book the lift at the new place, get the bed there, unload said bed and get that up to level 18. Once I get this big hurdle over, I can start to sort out all my shit! Unreal how much there is, and this is AFTER I’ve thrown out a whole heap of shit. I thought I was being minimalist in this move, but my vertigo is telling me otherwise haha. My head is kind of spinning and I had to take some Nurofen before to curb my head pounding. I honestly think it’s from the lifts. I’ve been in a house where I’ve just had to walk up 3 steps to get into for the past 12 years. Now here I am going up in a fast elevator (It really is fast, which is a good thing) and feeling the effects of it.

I stood outside on the new balcony, having a rest from carting all my shit up by myself. Phil was there with his friends at one point and they helped me bring some stuff up which was nice, but I’ve done the majority of it myself.
I just stood on the balcony, breathing in the warm night air and loving the night view. I think I will spend a fair bit of time out there. We’ve decided we’re gonna get a comfy lounge for out there at some point. I think it will be fabulous. It’s certainly going to be different.
Our internet is connected there already (hello NBN!) so once I get myself half organized, I’m sure I’ll write how I’m settling in.

Crazy how fast this has all happened. Now to magically get my huge-ass bed up 18 storeys. I have to take this car back tomorrow arvy and then find a ute place. I’m hoping my old work still has them.
The elderly Italian lady neighbour across the road saw me carting out boxes today and asked if I was moving. She exclaimed, “Ohhh!!!!” She’s always been amazing, saying hello every morning. I was there when her husband passed and her mother moved away. She’s probably seen every single guy come in and out of this place lol.

New home sweet home! :D


wintergrey January 21, 2019

Yay, congratulations and good luck in your new home!

Swanny January 21, 2019

You could always sell the bed and buy a new one, get it delivered?

cazoob January 22, 2019

Congratulations! Wooooo!

~Octopussy~ February 01, 2019

That’s cool that your neighbor said something.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.