The Dementia Thing in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 18, 2019, 9:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is raining now but this is just a few days ago when we had sun.

I finally received the report on the brain scan. Overall it is good news, my brain is normal and even though I didn’t know that they were looking for a possible tumor pressing on my auditory facilities I don’t have one. They think the uneven hearing loss is based on this wayward nerve that is just structurally in a different place than most peoples. She says it is not genetic so there could be some other factors at work.

I received the report first and then had to wait days to talk to a doctor about it. They want to do some more blood work because I have a larger than normal pituitary gland and maybe some more imaging after that. I hope not.

My first response to that was, duh! I do a lot of my meditation practice focused around the third eye, which is the area in front of the pituitary gland. Then my second response was well that explains why I am so sensitive and emotional! I can blame my emotional eating on my slightly larger pituitary. Ha.

The other thing they found was small vessel ischemia. This is an indicator of increased risk of stroke and dementia.

Man, that had me spun out for a couple of days.

But yesterday I talked to the doctor that ordered the test and she says it is often a marker for people who suffer from migraines.

That would be me. Migraines since I was 17, with no diminishment since menopause, which I know happens to a lot of women.

It fascinates me that they would leave a marker in my brain and also increase my risk for stroke and dementia.

All the protocols I employ for the heart condition are good for that so all I can do is the best I can do with the circumstances I am presented with.

I have had a lot of experience with loved ones with brain tumors so I am greatly relieved to know I don’t have any sign of one. My mother was 10 years younger than I am now when she succumbed to hers. Glad that isn’t genetic.

This afternoon I will log off an hour and a half early from work and then go up for my first follow-up on the hearing aids and then I have four days off!

I am teaching in just a few hours and won’t teach again until next Wednesday so it will be a break across the board.

My goal is to get as relaxed as possible and then not have any goals.


Last updated January 18, 2019


Marg January 18, 2019

An excellent goal if I may say so! Glad there were some good points in those results - I would have been totally spun out by the vessel ischemia too.

toddslife January 18, 2019

nice photo

Lyn January 18, 2019

Yay for the good news!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.