January 14th in Posso's Prompts

  • Jan. 15, 2019, 2:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s an easy out for you today. Think of the last movie you saw in the theater and write a review of it.

I am an avid movie watcher and usually an avid movie theater inhabitant but lately I have not been to the theater at all. It’s the second week of January and I can truthfully tell you the last time I was at a movie was for Bohemian Rhapsody, and that was before Thanksgiving.

For me, the experience of Rami Malek as Freddie Mercury was pretty entertaining. I can’t imagine having to act with that big fake set of teeth in his mouth and sometimes you could tell that he was struggling to get words out, almost taking the authenticity out of it. Knowing that it was a biopic of sorts and not a musical was a good thing as well; I didn’t put too much expectation into the songs then. Clearly if you keep reading and you have not seen the movie, you may be in for some spoilers, so fair warning. I thought they did a great job of showing Freddie’s background from being ‘unmarketable’ because of his large mouth to his extravagant flair. I also had never known that he was actually married to a woman at all. It was impressive to see how his band mates definitely had an input into how they were portrayed in the movie but also how Mercury remained the main protagonist to the story. One of the only issues I had with the movie was the ending - showing most of the Live Aid performance seemed a little overdone, especially if we weren’t calling this a musical. I did enjoy it overall though and it’s probably too late to see in a theater but if you’re a fan of Queen (or you got stuck working in a piano bar for years and heard Bohemian Rhapsody, Fat Bottomed Girls, Don’t Stop Me Now and others multiple times in a night and still like it) or interested in a background without wanting to read, I’d recommend it.

I have to thank my fake brother from another mother, Maxwell Shenkenberg, for taking me to this. I was in quite the funk at the time and he was definitely concerned about me and I had a good group of supportive friends that kept an eye on me after I almost wasted away my life this last fall. We went to Flix Brewhouse on the east side of Madison and it wasn’t the same as the Marcus Theatre experience I’ve grown accustomed to in the Madison area, but it was enjoyable. Max ended up picking our seats and in a half empty theater he got the seat where there was no front counter to put your food on but rather a set up from what you’d experience in a college lecture hall. He had to pull his tray table from the side of the seat and eat basically on a desk, which is hilarious when you’re in the dark.

Hopefully, I can get to Aquaman in the next couple weeks, as well as Spiderman: Into the Spider-Verse and maybe Vice and Glass, otherwise I don’t see anything that catches my eye on going to a theater until Captain Marvel comes out. Let me know if there’s a movie you want to go to though and I’m definitely down.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.