Feeling Like a Slacker Without Being One in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 14, 2019, 1:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Looking carefully here you can see a flowerbed border of stone rabbits. It is a whimsical touch at this restored mansion I walked by yesterday that made me smile. The blue sky made me smile too, even though the wind was a bit brisk.

Later as I walked with Mrs. Sherlock and a frisky Frida we looked east and could see mountains we didn’t even know we could see, the top of Mt. Rainier for one, just to the left of the snow covered dome of Mt. St. Helen’s. Maybe even Baker but we weren’t that high up. Much Googling of mountains occurred when we got back to their place where they fed me a lovely lunch.

Then we watched “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” (which I had not seen before) and talked poetry and politics. Although the movie is dark it has this lovely heart and vulnerability and a fabulous female role so I enjoyed it.

Frida was all over me during my visit. Both the Sherlock’s were commenting on it. It is kind of touching to be considered an honorary dog, which I think she does. Considering that I am afraid of many larger dogs, I find this special relationship kind of extraordinary.

Other than a little writing, some chores and a modest (for me) amount of exercise I feel like I was a slacker chick this weekend. I slept a lot.

I didn’t go to the gym or do my push ups or any yoga continuing ed., though I did do a practice on Saturday in there somewhere to prep for my classes this coming week. I didn’t do anything in the kitchen of note.

Next week I am only working the last three days and am ever so much looking forward to what for me will be a 4-day weekend come Friday. I want to get in gear a bit and see if I can accomplish some useful things.

The tax preparer I have been using the last few years is not going to do personal taxes anymore (I don’t blame her with the changes in the law, the IRS on furlough and her own family caregiving issues.) I just got that letter so I need to find someone else I trust (that is a bit closer in).

Originally I was planning on working on marketing my classes during this time off but now I need to wait for the second week in February to see if anyone shows up through the church program guide offering.

The doctor that ordered my MRI is supposed to be back tomorrow. I had my kidney function tested and those results came through healthy this morning. I already knew that because the tech that took my blood was testing for it on the spot to see if I’d flush the contrast okay. Nice of them to check, my mother had kidney stones and I do not wish that on anyone.

The rain returns tomorrow so I am looking forward to being out an about today in the winter light. There are fragrant bushes that are starting to bloom already here. And we saw snowdrops up and crocus shoots yesterday on our walk.

Things were a bit better at work last week. Much to my astonishment my boss actually came in to talk to me on Thursday about something I am intensely involved in and have been for years. This morning though when I inquired about if I should do some additional reporting someone was asking for I received a response that was so cryptic I had no idea what it meant!

Hey, at least I am getting paid for the work I do! For that I am extremely grateful.

Could we all just grow up and end the shutdown? Please.


woman in the moon January 14, 2019

Lovely entry. Great photos. What alert rabbits. Thinking of contrast between the homeless and the luxuriously homed. (Watched a youtube video about LA's 50,000 homeless mainly living on sidewalks!)
I love your and Frida's relationship. I saw that movie too at my son's place - I liked it but didn't like it a lot, if you know what I mean? It was unique and quite beautiful in many ways.

Lyn January 14, 2019

Love the photo and your relationship with Frida (do the cats approve? 😸)

noko Lyn ⋅ January 14, 2019

Ha! No, the cats do not approve. They all met once briefly and that was enough. My hope is that we can continue this balanced relationship for a good long while. :)

Zipster January 14, 2019

Love the bunnies. There is a house in my neighborhood (owned by 2 potters) that has a giant bunny, that looks like a giant Peep, in pink. A neighborhood attraction that was once kidnapped.
Sorry, the big baby in the white house is still refusing to grow up, ever.

Marg January 15, 2019

Love the touch of the whimsical stone rabbits!
I think to be picked as a best pal by a dog is something of an honour :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.