How do I? in Juggling with Hedgehogs

  • Feb. 13, 2014, 11:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven't a clue how to make my entries 'members only'. I don't intend to do that with a lot of them, but you never know. I might only want to talk to my old OD buddies (which frankly, is probably all of you) rather than the whole general public of the whole wide world.

Haven't a clue how to do it, can't find anything to click or select or whatever. I am finding this site mucho confusing.


Star Maiden February 13, 2014

I believe it has to be selected by book, not by entry.

Icklewriter Star Maiden ⋅ February 13, 2014

Yes, I've just discovered this. Not keen on that, but hey ho, I can't change it.

Icklewriter Star Maiden ⋅ February 13, 2014

Thanks for the reply! :-)

ElvenAssassin February 13, 2014

Under settings you can now select "hide me completely from public view" as well. I haven't used it, but if all your books are restricted (members only, friends only, private), your user name and picture will still be there to see by non-members with it unchecked.

Daisy Mae February 13, 2014

It takes a while to get used to things and there are still issues that bug the heck out of me. Finding unread entries is annoying especially when they are in different books. In fact the navigation sucks - hate not being able to go easily from one entry to the next whether at top or bottom of entry / notes. I do wonder whether the desire to not be OD prevents some of ODs good ideas being ignored!

Do love the notes / comments and the way you can reply to them!

Lepetit pumpkinesque February 13, 2014

Yeah- what I do is I follow everyone I want to read, but only make a select few 'friends' that way my very private thoughts can be put in a friends only book, and every other book is Members only, I have one 'public' book so people can note there too.

Icklewriter Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ February 13, 2014

It's all so complicated. I'd rather be able to select entry-by-entry what I want people to see.

Sapphire February 13, 2014

That's the one big thing I really want to have on this site. At the moment I have a diet book and a creative writing book that are public, a general rambling book that's members only and another book that's private. But I'd much prefer having us tone book and then choosing the access level on an entry by entry basis.

Icklewriter Sapphire ⋅ February 13, 2014

Perhaps we can suggest that to the site owner.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.