Finally! in Everyday Musings of a Very Tired Mama

  • Jan. 7, 2019, 6:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Pickle goes back to school tomorrow. I love him more than life itself but its been 17 days y’all.
Of course the tradeoff is going to be resuming walking him to and from school twice a day, at least 2 days this week. And showing up not knowing if he will have a different outfit on because he once again wet his pants. He had to change his clothes twice today. idk wtf.

I sent a writing sample into a ‘content mill’ to see if I can get started copy writing. It pays pennies (literally) but is a way to build up experience and get published even if it is just humdrum drivel. Anyway I sent my resume and had to write 200 words on how to save money on car insurance. I think I did really well and now I’m just waiting to hear.

I’ve loved writing for as long as I can remember. And I’m a total spelling and grammar Nazi. My two best friends, A&K and I started writing stories the summer before high school started. We would write about the adventures we had with our favorite rock bands, Def Leppard and Europe. I wrote an entire novel in one weekend that summer. During that summer before high school my mom and I had to move to a different city about 20 minutes away. I was so pissed because I was going to have to start high school in a new city, when I had gone to school with some of my friends since Kindergarten. So A&K and I would call each other on the phone and read each other pages and pages of our stories. In a stroke of luck, at the last minute, my mom was able to find us an apartment in town and I was able to start high school with my friends. But the writing still continued and this time matured a little bit. I have been working on two novels since 1993. I know, I know. I have also written a lot of funny stuff. I had a couple diaries on OD that were funny as shit. I know I printed them out at one point. I also wrote funny obits for my friends and co-workers pets who had passed away. I wrote book reviews and the odd article for a grass-roots women’s paper here in St Pete. I have written essays and poems and short stories. I have written newsletters.
So I guess I would like to find an ‘in’ into freelance writing or copywriting. Everywhere I have looked thus far wants a 4 year degree, a portfolio, working in an office during the day or me to pay them. I feel kind of energized about writing again.
I have also found lots and lots of writing contests–lots of them are free to enter. I would only be entering them for the chance to have them published, thereby building a portfolio. I know deep within the bowels of our garage I have samples of my work. I just need to get out a flashlight and start looking.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.