Sprang ankle, grocery shopping on funeral money, sad in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • Dec. 30, 2018, 5:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I havent been to the grocery store since before dad died December 9th. I have to wear an ankle brace because rolled my ankle when i fell at work i sprang it. i have a day off doctors orders. I limped through the store getting groceries for Randy guy i work with said he wished he had money to spend on groceries. I almost cried thinking mom gave me that money at my dads funeral to buy groceries with until i can get back on my feet. I almost told him i rather have my dad alive than these groceries anyday. I limped to my car and cried. I apparently am not over dads death.

I was at work yesterday ringing register yesterday my boss called my name i turned to see what he wanted i misstepped rolled my ankle fell on my face. I bruised my butt arm hip and ankle when i fell. It hurt so bad. I tried to find someone to cover me everyone refused to cover the shift. I limped in pain crying. End of shift i went to hospital they said i have sprang ankle and bruising of the bone i have a hairline fracture was told keep the brace on it. I came home trying to keep it propped up. I went got groceries and cat food because i was out of everything.

My boss called me in to cover a shift tomorrow i fear if i dont take the shift he will fire me. I need to keep working. In 2 weeks the mobile home that was given to me will be brought to moms i got to pay to remodel it. I need to fix the holes in walls and floors. After i fix the free mobile home i plan Talan and i to move to moms with our cats. I plan to catch the feral cats outside release them to live in moms yard. They deserve a nice place to live like me! We are going to sell the current mobile home we are living in. The money is going to my mom. She helping us pay for free mobile home move and remodel.

I think soon i am going to find a grief counselor i am having hard time adapting after dads death. We had difficult relationship most of my life. I walked on egg shells around him just to be a part of his life. Towards end of his life i really thought we were doing well. His death was a shock to me and my mom. I keep trying be moms support system even though i am falling apart.

Anybody know how i can reduce swelling on my ankle so i can go back to work. I know i should take time to heal from injury and dads death but my bills dont wait!


Beret December 30, 2018

You were injured on the job. What is your employer's responsibility in this regard?

mysterymelody Beret ⋅ December 30, 2018

He said where i rolled my ankle and fell the company isnt liable for my clumsiness. He said they are only accountable if i trip on something. I was told if i file workers comp i am fired.

Beret mysterymelody ⋅ December 31, 2018

I’m no expert on this topic but what he told you does not sound legal.

Deleted user December 30, 2018

If you are injured at work this is a workers comp claim and that's who should be paying for it and your employer should have had you fill out injury paperwork which would have been sent to the hospital with you and then subsequently to a worker's comp doctor

Deleted user December 30, 2018

From my understanding you work at a dollar store that is a big Corporation If your manager did not do that he is the one at risk of losing employment you should contact him fill out the injury paperwork if you haven't and follow the procedures

Always Forgiven December 31, 2018

You were injured at work, regardless of how it happened. You were on the clock so that should be a workman’s comp claim. If he fires you he’s asking for a lawsuit. That’s not right.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.