Friends of coincidence in The First Life

  • Dec. 28, 2018, 12:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to try to write more often, and reflect, more openly, on day to day experiences and thoughts.
Writing is important to me, as are all the other forms of art I have passion for.

I was doing my usual thing of scrolling mindlessly through insta, when I saw an update from this girl I bumped into at a friends party once.
We hadn’t even exchanged names at the party, but she had a really confident undercut, and she stared at me a lot.
I came to know her name, but I dont remember how, honestly.

From time to time, we’d frequent the same bar. My bar. Her’s too, I guess.
I’d see her sitting alone, just like me, unphased, still, and fearless.
The same guys that approached her, approached me, but she was much more warm and welcoming. I am an ice queen, and I do not want you near me.
She cut her hair short, and was growing out her undercut.
I always wanted to try an undercut.

She added me on Facebook one day. I scrolled through her pictures.

Months later, I was in our bar with my newish boyfriend. She ended up right next to me as I was leaving, and the strangest thing happened when we both embraced each other in a hug. I barely knew how to introduce her. I left with my guy, she stayed, surrounded by strange ones.

She began following me on insta…
I followed back.
I watch her stories, and even read her blog posts now.

It is the strangest thing, I think.
Like maybe so many coincidences were supposed to mean something.
She always seems like she’s looking for meaningful connections.
Maybe we’re supposed to be friends, who knows?

I just felt the need to reflect on that today..when I realized I felt like I was spying into the life of someone I dont really know.


Last updated December 28, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.