Looking for a New Home in New Beginnings

  • Feb. 11, 2014, 8:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm really, really getting to a point where I want my own place. I appreciate being able to save so much by living with Johnny, but cabin fever is setting in. I live in a tiny room in the basement. It fits a bed plus a couple of pieces of furniture, and that's it. There's not really any room for a chair, so if I'm in my bedroom, I have to sit on the bed. There are no windows, so it can fill like a cell at times.

Johnny's townhome has a living room, so there is a common area I can escape to, but it's not much of a solution when he's in the room. Sometimes, I just want to read or watch T.V. on my laptop with my headphones on, but doing either of those things in the living room can be difficult if he's there. He usually at his desk studying, but occasionally, he'll want to listen to music while he works, or he'll take a break and watch videos on YouTube. Of course, he doesn't where headphones like I do. That's totally fair, seeing as how it's his place, but that makes reading impossible. Even if I'm watching Hulu or Netflix with my headphones on, he can't really take a hint that I'm not looking to interact with anyone. He will randomly want to start a conversation about one thing or another. I'll take off my headphones and humor his whim for a few minutes, and when the conversation lulls, I'll put my headphones back on and return to whatever I was watching. A few minutes later, he'll want to pick the conversation back up. There's no definite end to it. What makes it really bad is that sometimes he wants to talk economics, which drives me nuts since he and I don't see eye-to-eye on that matter. I don't argue because I don't want to pick a fight with my landlord, but enduring those conversations are akin to nails on a chalkboard.

Whether I get an apartment or buy a place of my own, I've just got to get my own oasis, soon.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.