"THE CAFFEINE-FUELLED WORKAHOLIC" in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • Dec. 11, 2018, 3:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Stay awake
Tons of work that always wait
No time to waste
Not many choices anyway

Ask me not
to relax
I need to catch up
with all I’ve lost
Thanks to you-know-who
‘though they refuse to accept it’s true

One more cup
of that black coffee, please?
Pray this old heart won’t pop
after so many punches and stabs

Convince friends:
“It’s all good”
‘though you can’t always pretend
You’re tired
You’re bloody exhausted
Oh-so-fed-up

Wait, what romance?
It’s probably been dead for ages
My two left-feet will ruin the dance
These days, close to no chances

Secure myself with money
Yes, this road is lonely
but there’s only me
the existing warrior
not a princess aching
for some cliche, prince charming
such an ancient fantasy

Go back to work, lovely
It’s still around the clock, hopefully not for eternity
Well, probably…

…until you decide how you’d like to be…

R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.