OH, ADVENTURE ! in Postcards 4

  • Dec. 9, 2018, 12:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The holidays begin slowly, and for me, bravely doing new things I have never done before by myself.

I had bought a “compass card” during the week. No longer does one use paper transfers or paper day passes on public transportation here, now one has these bright yellow cards. I put twenty dollars on it…richness in the old days, and Friday I got to use it for the first time.

There’s a bus stop right in front of the house, and the bus driver showed me how to use the card. I got off downtown at the Santa Fe station, and managed to cross a quarter acre of tracks to the station waiting room. There was a kind lady in an information booth who told me where and how to catch the Coaster. I could inset the card in the machine near the far tracks, and it would tell me how much money I still had on it. I had enough.

George and two co-workers at the company dinner.

George was to meet me at the Carlsbad Poinsettia station. As we zipped up the coast, a group of white haired bike riders included me in their conversations. I felt far less as if I could get lost in their company. I popped off the train at the right station, and I turned around to see George waiting on the other side of the tracks. What a delight.

A Chocolate macadamia nut tart.

I always dread office parties. This one was held at the posh Rancho Bernardo Inn. It only took us an hour to get there from the station as traffic was truly horrible. (VS: a four hour round trip if G came south to get me and go back up for the party.) No one was drinking. There was a half an hour of smoosing before the very good food, and the after dinner games were fun. I didn’t feel as isolated as usual.

It was December Nights in Balboa Park this weekend. We puttered Saturday morning away then drove up to the park very early to find a place to put the Toyota. For the last four or five years, I have worked this event with George at the Automotive Museum. This year there were Sandwiches and drinks. There were cookies and good company. We enjoyed ourselves before 5PM when the doors opened.

The Bumble Bee VW was a huge hit.

I grabbed a chair at the docent table while waiting to be assigned to a car or truck. The whole goal is to keep kids and adults off the cars and the chains surrounding them. There I was for the duration. The new director hovered a bit, but my desk was right at the main door so I didn’t blame him. I got to talk with everyone, answer questions, and only had to yell once to get kids off the chains. 4,500 walked through the museum this free night.

1966 BMW Isetta behind me along with a Austin 7 and a Messerschmitt…old small economical cars. The VW was right in front.

These two vehicles were over by where G was sitting.

Tonight we have a business meeting to attend. I’m not in awe of these things nor am I uncomfortable. I’m just terribly bored. There are 0ver 60 volunteers that work here, and every six months the people rotate out of their positions. Getting folks to volunteer when they would truly rather not is a challenge and sometimes an endless procedure.

We will survive and with a smile.


woman in the moon December 09, 2018 (edited December 09, 2018)

Edited

I had a Bronco = blue and white vehicle to the right in last picture. Mine wasn't that fancy but I loved it. Clutch, three on the tree, and a choke, for heaven's sake.

MageB woman in the moon ⋅ December 10, 2018

That's it.

toddslife December 09, 2018

nice photos

Marg December 09, 2018

That tart looks scrumptious :)
Beautiful cars! Is that the museum George works at?

MageB Marg ⋅ December 10, 2018

Yes, it is. :)

gattaca December 10, 2018

I want that truck!
How many calories in that nut tart? :-D

MageB gattaca ⋅ December 10, 2018

I don't know, but I can say one of my bathing suits that fit last week is tight this week.

Deleted user December 10, 2018

I love that tiny BMW!

MageB Deleted user ⋅ December 10, 2018

That's a BMW Isetta. :)

Deleted user MageB ⋅ December 11, 2018

I love it . Just my size !

Hillbilly Princess December 11, 2018

,

NorthernSeeker December 12, 2018

I'm feeling very grateful that I don't have any festivities planned for the next while. Would you describe yourself as an introvert or an extrovert?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.