PLAYING WITH THE HOLIDAY in Postcards 4

  • Dec. 4, 2018, 4:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Keeping the living room simple this year was hard for me. I am not one to fill my windows with moving Santa’s, nor am I fond of Christmas décor everywhere. But, until recently, I have loved to hang our large collection of ornaments on the tree. I confess that it crept far beyond the greenery too.

This year, I was tired. There is a lack of motivation in me that has spilled over to the holiday. I’m frankly ashamed to admit it. At last I understand my mother who had this same lack of energy every Christmas. I do wrap presents early. Mother didn’t. Martini in hand, she could found upstairs wrapping packages the very last minute before the unwrapping.

Dear G put all the empty ornament boxes up in the attic while I was at work today. I do seem to be missing a couple of presents. My thought is that they levitated in with the ornament boxes and won’t be seen again until I climb a ladder.

I did simplify the tree. Only blue and turquoise balls and tear drops with a handful of clear snowflakes. The rest of the room remains a delightful chaos while Bobbies quilt fills the other half with its crows and purpleness.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Working hard till 3, then PT. Cats are doing good.

  • Myself: Shelving seemingly hundreds of disparate boxes of books.

  • Reading: ”Stilletto” which is the second Volume in the Rook series.

  • Gratitude’s: George, the car…which is 12 now, dinner out, wonderful books, sunshine too.


GypsyWynd December 04, 2018

I think your tree looks very elegant.

Deleted user December 04, 2018

Your tree is very pretty !

Marg December 05, 2018

Really pretty - I love the different shades of blue!

aunty EM December 05, 2018

No room in this tiny abode for Christmas trees... If, and I really mean "IF", I get around to it, I will decorate my corner in the hall outside my door.

NorthernSeeker December 05, 2018

Your trees are always beautiful even when you don't feel like it.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ December 05, 2018

Thank you so much.

Hillbilly Princess December 05, 2018

Love it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.