Warm, warm Sunday and pics from the near north.... in Secrets from myself

  • Aug. 25, 2013, 3:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My philosophy of picture taking is pretty bare bones. I see something I want to save and I take its picture. I very rarely look at the picture - either in the camera or much beyond a glance after I've downloaded them into the computer. I very rarely even think of them until it's time to write a diary entry and I want something to illustrate what I'm writing about.

Another dirty little secret is I almost always pick out the pictures I show here and other places on line from their thumbnails. And keep in mind I do all this stuff from a notebook computer with a screen about five inches by seven inches. Sometimes I say it's like taking an appendix out through a keyhole.

Am I bragging or apologizing? Or is there a difference?

I enjoy my pictures but I don't work very hard at them.

The pictures below were taken on the street in downtown LaCrosse last weekend. I embarrassed my son by ducking down an alley to get the fire escape and its shadow. When I saw the pic I thought it might benefit from some cropping but I never got around to doing it.

 photo DSC07339.jpg

Farther down the alley were these beautiful green concrete parking stops. Are they parking stops? Whatever they were they were kind of hard to photo. They looked a certain way in my head but I couldn't get the angle right.

 photo DSC07342.jpg

In a store window were some not terribly great but certainly ok paintings and I sign offering painting classes. They were one off classes - on certain nights. Materials and wine were provided and the cost wasn't that much. Doesn't that sound appealing? I took a picture of the sign so I could check into it later. Turned out there was so much reflection that I'm not sure the sign is readable. Maybe for you with larger monitors?

 photo DSC07325.jpg

The pics are still uploading as I type this. It's Sunday afternoon and I suppose there is a lot of internet traffic today. Anyway I don't remember what the fourth picture I chose fifteen or so minutes ago was. So I can't write anymore about it.

I do know I have a bunch of Reno Bottoms pics too - and I'll upload them in the next few days and show you them too. Funny thing happened with the Reno Bottoms photos - it was foggy when we set off and I took a bunch of pics of things in the middle distance. The water was calm and there were some perfect reflections of grasses against a gray background that were interesting. When I looked at them (quickly - I don't look very much) the first pics an odd blue filtered light. I might show one of them too. They aren't good pics at all. They are just odd.

Oh here's the last pic I chose to show you. It's taken in the parking lot of the big grocery store - two little trees in the back of a pickup. I thought it represented hope. And just niceness.

 photo DSC07345.jpg

We can wish them a good life. Can't we?


Kimber August 25, 2013

I enjoyed all four pics, but that fire escape one is crazy-good.

NorthernSeeker August 25, 2013

The more I read about how people take photos, the more I realize it is a process not just the click of the shutter. What you take photos of, and why you pick them are important.

themoodyone August 26, 2013

camera or camera phone? You should check out Instagram for these things. The fire escape one is cool.

Just Annie August 26, 2013

I love your photographs.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.