LIVING IN THE RAIN in Postcards 4

  • Dec. 1, 2018, 3:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Margot when she was living in Seattle. Photo PAH.

A day of dots again:
• Margot is having a trigger finger released this morning. Her first surgery. They do it differently now from just a few years ago. Just like with George, they want her using it as soon as possible. No big football of bandages. I like that.
• Yes, George is doing wonderfully. More of this use it right away stuff. They need to turn his knee inward a little. He’s even doing pretty darned good on the stairs. All sorts of stretches and other things. He says his Therapist knows he sits at a computer all day long.
• Rain. We have been having what they call showers, and we here in Southern California call heavy rain. As I was walking my laps in the pool this morning, the heavens let loose with great buckets of that ice cold stuff. Yesterday the Friends of the Library area’s drain was blocked. The sorting area flooded just as I was leaving. On the freeways, oil floats to the surface of the cement, and all the cars float too. Hydroplaning. Big rigs float just as excitingly as cars. This morning, at 4 something, a Toyota Corolla, much like mine, went the wrong way on the freeway. It went under the front of a fire engine on the way to help a pedestrian that had just been run over by a Toyota Corolla. Half a Toyota remained to glisten on the wet freeway.
• I remembered my teeth, but I discovered I had forgotten to bring a towel to the pool. I would hide my head in the sand about this, but it would only get sand in my hearing aids…which I did not forget.
• Life is good. Most of the time I see no reason to buy new books. This week I splurged, and in the bedroom the newest Louise Penny sits waiting for me. I love the little shop called “Mysterious Galaxy.” There mysteries and Sci Fi await anyone with a comfortable wallet. The store is up for sale, and I so hope it sells rather than closes.
• I feel so guilty if I pay 30 bucks for a book. Sometimes I will buy a hardback at Costco. Normally I spend a whole dollar for a book. Imagine the agony that even a discount price does to my sanity.
• Today, I’ll write here, wash the sheets, find something comfortable for lunch, and READ. Imagine that.


gattaca December 01, 2018

They had me on my feet 2 hours after I got out of ICU from my cardiac bypass. Right away, right away.

Good for you and good for George!

We got your rain this morning, early - and now it's moved up to Sedona where my sister and BIL are.

Marg December 01, 2018

Wow what are the odds with that whole Toyota Corolla situation??!

Deleted user December 01, 2018

Poor people involved in that Toyota accident ! I pay 1.50 for most of my books so it kills me to pay full price ! If I am desperate to read a specific book I get it from the library or buy the kindle version. How to be frugal sometimes :)
Margot’s Picture looks like a classical painting !

NorthernSeeker December 03, 2018

It sounds like San Diego was having much more than a shower! When infrastructure breaks down it happens really quickly. I'm glad to hear that you and George are doing well.

Hillbilly Princess December 04, 2018

Love the photo.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.