Stop Already! in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 11/27/2018 12:51 p.m.

  • Nov. 26, 2018, 6 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So on Thursday last week Snarf was nowhere to be seen at breakfast time. I wasn’t unduly worried because he’s gone AWOL for a day and night before and sauntered in quite the thing the following day right as rain.

However when he hadn’t appeared by Friday I began to get that horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach which all pet owners know and took out my ‘vet’ folder to search and see if there was any documentation about him being microchipped. He was originally my niece, Jenny’s, cat and when she got pregnant with her first child, she was worried he would get jealous. Nikki had not long moved out of my house to live on her own and was hating it and missing the cats desperately so when Jenny asked her if she wanted Snarf she accepted gratefully.

He was an outdoor cat but she was too scared to let him out so kept him indoors and as a result he turned into a very frustrated ball of fur. He would occasionally lash out but was kind enough to give us warning first in the shape of a sort of low growl then we knew we had a few minutes to get out of the way rapid-like! We just thought he was crabby.

When Nikki got pregnant with Lily she moved back in with me so Snarf came too. Then when Lily was around 4 months old she got a rented flat but pets weren’t allowed so Snarf became part of Team Snarf, Willow and Bailey. Willow was also an outdoor cat and I had a catflap so I let Snarf decide what he wanted to do and he was off like a shot, having a whale of a time bringing me lots of ‘presents’ and the odd mouse for Willow to play with. And from that day on there was no more growling or lashing out - in fact he turned into the sweetest cat you could find.

So because of all that I wasn't sure if any documentation had been passed on to us but I found a microchip Certificate in the file with contact details which were hopelessly out of date. I was just in the process of checking what I had to do to change them when Nikki texted me. ‘Don’t want to worry you but I’ve just seen this.’ ‘This’ turned out to be a post on the local lost and found Facebook page (I couldn’t put anything on it because they don’t accept anything unless the pet has been missing for at least 4 days).

‘There’s a black and white cat lying in the gutter on the Parkway (a very busy road about 2 streets away from me) around 300 yards from the roundabout down to the Diamond Bridge. Unfortunately I was on the wrong side of the road to stop.’ The time it was posted was 8 a.m. on Thursday morning.

My heart began hammering and my legs turned to jelly.

I dropped everything and drove up there but it was rush hour so the Parkway was going to be chokka for a good couple of hours. I walked up and down on both sides of the roundabout because the guy who had posted the message had unfortunately not specified which side - it was so frustrating. I had replied to his post but nothing had come back and I couldn’t see anything ominous on the road. I contacted the page moderator and he assured me he would contact him and get him to get back to me.

There was nothing I could do until then so I went to ASDA to pass the time and at 6.30 when the traffic had died down a bit I drove the length of the Parkway, both sides, but could see nothing. It was so dark though and Snarf was mainly black plus it was really hard to see anything and drive at the same time. Meanwhile Nikki was also checking the Facebook page and she sent me a text asking if I wanted her to come through to help look for him. I knew she’d been to a Christmas Fayre at the school that night with the girls and would want to know quickly so that she didn’t go home and get settled in with them then get a reply from me saying yes! So I phoned her.

“I’m on my way in” she said. “I just decided to come anyway.” I nearly fell down with shock. This was exactly what the ‘old Nikki’ would have done but the one I’ve been dealing with for the past year wouldn’t have bothered in the slightest.

By the time she arrived the guy who posted the message had finally got back to me and had also stopped on the Parkway on his way home from work and walked from where he’d seen the cat right down to the roundabout which was such a nice thing to do. Apparently him and his partner had had a cat which went missing and they never found out what happened to him which kinda explained it. He said the cat he saw had definitely gone but I knew fine I’d never sleep that night if I didn’t check myself so Nikki drove me up there and while she sat in the car with the girls, I scoured nearby bushes, hedges, ominous looking boulders and clumps of leaves, walking once again down to the roundabout and back. Nothing.

The girls went home and I spent a miserable teatime in a house which was far too quiet with nobody trying to jump up on my lap spilling my tea down the sofa. I tried to think what somebody would do if they had stopped for him and on Saturday morning I phoned all the local vets, cat and dog home, SSPCA, PDSA, Cat’s Protection League and even the police as a last resort. Nothing. Then I remembered. The bin lorry had been round on Thursday morning. Would they stop for dead cats? That thought was too awful to contemplate but I made a mental note to phone the Council Cleansing Department on Monday morning.

In the afternoon we had planned to go to a local animal sanctuary about an hour’s drive away because Santa was paying a visit. I would normally have driven out to Nikki’s then we’d have gone in her car from there as it was further out in her direction but having only got 2 hours’ sleep and been awake stressed to the eyeballs from 3 a.m. onwards I knew the last thing I should do was drive. I texted her first thing in the morning to tell her.

‘How about if I pick you up at 1 then?’ Shock number 2. For her to pick me up she had to drive half an hour to me, drive half an hour in the direction she’d just come from then another half hour out to the sanctuary. And do it all again on the way back. Yes I’m ill. Yes it’s what you do for family. But it’s exactly what she hasn’t been doing for months and again, the ‘old Nikki’ would have done this no problem.

So I very gratefully said yes and when we got out there, treated them all to lunch as a thank you. It didn’t really hit me about where we were going until we were well on the way - this particular sanctuary has loads of cats which wander freely around the property and curl up cutely on bales of hay beside sheep or goats or donkeys - and when they want a bit of peace they have rows of pillows to choose from in one of the barns. Bit daunting given the situation.

However it turned out to be a lovely afternoon and it was actually pretty therapeutic for me stroking all the cats and not upsetting at all. We had a really nice lunch and the only dark spot to the day was after the girls had had a chat with Santa and got their presents, Lily nonchalantly said “It’s not really Santa - it’s only someone dressed up.” We have literally NO idea where that came from! And didn’t investigate because Lilah was in earshot at the time.

On Sunday morning I felt really crappy - the mornings were when Snarf and I had our main cuddles - he would lie on me, over me, alongside me, anywhere he could get close to me on the bed and then when I got up he was happy to let me get on with the day. Then when I lay down at teatime again he would climb up and drape himself over me nudging his wee face into mine.

At 10 to 12 the phone rang. It was Nikki.

“I’ve got him.”

“What?? How?”

“A neighbour in the houses up the back beside the Parkway posted this morning that there’s a cat lying in the grass behind the houses so I knew you’d struggle to get up to go get him so came straight in and we have him in the car. Do you want me to bring him round just now?”

Shock number 3. She’d never have done that normally.

I found myself asking “Is he dead?” It sounds such a stupid question but the fact I asked it made me realise there must have been a bit of me holding out for him, hoping against hope.

“Yeah. Stiff as a board.”

And that’s when the floodgates opened.

But OMG what a difference it made to have him home! The girls (it was Lily who spotted him actually) had been well primed but there were 2 very solemn faces at the sight of Granny in tears when they opened the door and as Nikki went to get Snarf out of the car I suddenly felt a little 6 year old body closing in on mine and a pair of arms went round me in a cuddle. 2 seconds later another pair of wee arms followed suit on the other side and I was enveloped in the sweetest pair of hugs you could imagine. Which just made me cry even more.

So. Only 4 months after I dug a hole to bury Willow I have to take up that damned spade once again and dig another one for Snarf. That’s far too soon. And of course I’m torturing myself on a regular basis with thoughts of my little boy lying on that bloody road, in the pouring rain and howling wind, injured and unable to get home, with all these cars racing past him, while I lay asleep in my warm, comfortable bed. It’ll be a while before that stops I should imagine.

But I will be forever grateful to that woman for telling us where he was. And giving me the chance to bring him back home.

And this morning I read this beautiful entry written by history of love. If any of you have been cruelly battered by grief in your lives, you might very much identify with the words here. By the way, I am not in any way comparing this with the death of a cat but would also just note that the death of a pet often taps into unresolved grief from previous losses. https://www.prosebox.net/entry/756284/

Maybe best read in private somewhere though.

Bye Snarfie.



You were a sweet, loving, feisty cat adapting to wherever you found yourself and you didn't deserve to go like that.

Last updated November 27, 2018


ConnieK November 27, 2018

ALL deaths hurt, whether human or not. I'm so sorry for your loss. I'm glad you got him back, though. {{HUGS}}

Marg ConnieK ⋅ November 27, 2018

Thank you Connie!

^..^Kat November 27, 2018

:( I'm so sorry. I am glad you got him back though, so you're not left wondering.

Marg ^..^Kat ⋅ November 27, 2018

Yes I felt sorry for that poor guy who posted the original message because he never found out what happened to his cat. I hope he didn't feel guilty for not stopping.

blackpropaganda November 27, 2018

So sorry!!!

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ November 27, 2018

Thank you!

kmh. November 27, 2018

Oh goodness. I am so sorry Marg. What an awful year you have had for loss of your furry family members :(
As I was reading, I truly thought there may have been a happy ending :( Absolutely gutted for you. The death of a pet can absolutely have as big of an impact as any loss.. they are our family, and are often the ones who are there for us when nobody else is.
I'm so glad Nikki has been helpful and supportive. That certainly would have helped make a horrible situation a little bit easier.
Big hugs xoxo

Marg kmh. ⋅ November 28, 2018

Thanks Kylie! I know I can't believe I've gone from 3 cats to 1 in the space of 4 months! It made a huge difference having Nikki to share the grief with and just having that extra help y'know? I really hope this is the start of us getting back to normal but I know we've a long way to go - it's a start though!

kmh. Marg ⋅ December 04, 2018

I don't know the history of yours and Nikki's relationship, but I really do hope this is a positive shift. How are you doing? I've been thinking of you x

Marg kmh. ⋅ December 05, 2018

It’s just that we were extremely close up until I experienced the withdrawal from Diazepam last year which made me very ill - it was almost like I didn’t exist for her which was very painful. She appears to be treating other people very badly as well though so I’m not very sure what’s going on but I’m keeping the metaphorical door open for the sake of our relationship.
I’m doing not too badly thanks - the extra stress and effort of Christmas is throwing me I have to admit but I’m trying to pace myself. There is a change in Bailey’s behaviour though - he’s obviously enjoying having the house to himself now and is coming to ‘visit’ me at the top of the bed for short spells of cuddles in the morning and evening. He’s always slept at the bottom of the bed during the day but it looks like he’s migrating ever so slightly further up the bed gradually - it’s so cute!😸

thesunnyabyss November 27, 2018

I am so sorry for your loss, pets are as much family as anything, and cats in particular find a special place in our hearts, big hugs

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ November 28, 2018 (edited November 28, 2018)

Edited

Thanks - they sure do don't they!

mcbee November 27, 2018

The silver lining (if there is one) is the way that Nikki stepped up and supported you. It's always devastating to me to lose an animal, and to hear from others when they go through it.

Snarf got to live the kind of life he wanted to, and unfortunately that comes with inherent dangers. My current two cats are the first I've kept completely indoors...and they want to go outside so much that I feel like they are missing part of what should be a life experience. It's a hard call to make. I'm sorry you have a lost another part of your furbaby family and wish you peace as you adjust to it.

Marg mcbee ⋅ November 28, 2018

Thank you! It's a really hard call isn't it? When I saw the house was so close to that road when I bought it I really deliberated about keeping Willow inside (we didn't have Snarf then) but the 3 weeks I had to keep him in after moving was just miserable for him - he used to sit at the window looking so longingly at the world that I just couldn't do it. And to be fair I've lived here for over 10 years so if Snarf has been negotiating that road for that length of time he's done very well! Bailey is totally an indoor cat so I don't have that to worry about thank goodness.

JustSurviveSomehow November 27, 2018

Oh no, I am so sorry to hear this! And I disagree, it is absolutely comparable! Animals are so incredibly loving and loyal. Every one will do you wrong at some point, but other than jumping up on counters where they don't belong, or knocking your tea over, as you put it, they can really do no wrong. They just love you and provide the utmost loyal companionship. My heart breaks for you. That was a beautifully written entry that you shared by History of Love. <3

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ November 28, 2018

Thank you! It was a very special entry wasn't it? She did well to put it together so beautifully like that.

Oswego November 27, 2018

Very sorry about your dear cat. He evidently was very special and obviously so loved. Nikki really came through!

Marg Oswego ⋅ November 28, 2018

Thank you! Yes she really did - I was so surprised - hopefully this is the start of a turnaround in behaviour - that would make me very happy :)

Just Annie November 28, 2018

Oh, I'm so sorry. :(

Marg Just Annie ⋅ November 28, 2018

Thanks Annie!

MageB November 28, 2018

I am so very sorry about Snarf's passing. Be kind to yourself, and remember how much you did for him when he was with you. Remember how much he did for you too. Many hugs from me.

Marg MageB ⋅ November 29, 2018

Thank you!

NorthernSeeker November 28, 2018

How horrible for you to lose Snarf. I was so hoping this story was going to have a happy ending. You've lost another great companion. Poor Bailey will be beside himself, too. I wish you strength.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 29, 2018

Thanks! Yes really missing him bigtime :(

Serin November 29, 2018

I'm sorry you have to say goodbye to him, but I'm glad you got him home.

Marg Serin ⋅ November 30, 2018

Thanks - yes it made a big difference getting him home!

Serin November 29, 2018

That poem speaks truth.

Marg Serin ⋅ November 30, 2018

Poem?

Kristi1971 November 30, 2018

I am so very sorry for your loss. The loss is great whether pet or human...it's a loss. I'm just glad you were able to get him home, and Nikki really helped. :) What a girl! Hugs.

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ November 30, 2018

Yeah it made a huge difference getting him home and having her support which has been severely lacking lately - and why I could identify with you so much in your recent entry :(

Sabrina-Belle December 01, 2018

I'm so sorry. I understand a little of how you must feel, we lost our beautiful Chip on the road and, as with you, someone eventually contacted us so we found out what had happened. Snarf was a beautiful cat. He didn't deserve to go like that but how you live is more important than how you die and he had many years with people who loved him.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ December 02, 2018

Thank you Sylvia - that's a lovely way of putting it and it helps me so much!

Lady of the Bann December 02, 2018

3 years ago my cat went missing and although we trawled up and down the road we never found him. I too live near a busy road and have lost a few cats that way and found them. That is the better way. Glad you still have a cat in your life.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ December 02, 2018

I couldn't believe the difference it made getting his body back - so sorry you never found yours though :(

noko December 02, 2018

Oh gosh! I am so so sorry. What an ordeal.

Marg noko ⋅ December 02, 2018

Thanks Noko!

ODSago December 04, 2018

I'm so moved by your story here and by your granddaughters' loving arms. Indeed a family loss and the entire family had a part in solving this mystery and finding closure and grief, I know you will miss him for a long time to come. This was a hard-won closure and like you, I hate thinking of your boy on the side of that road. Amazing that he was found and brought home. Let's hear it for daughters who are really supportive in such times.

Marg ODSago ⋅ December 05, 2018

Yes I was very surprised by Nikki’s behaviour because it was so different from what I’ve come to expect of late. Hopefully this is the start of a turnaround.
It was Lily who spotted him first on the ground (Nikki took them both back to the car before she investigated further) which made it all the sweeter. There was no better feeling than when I felt those little arms snaking round my waist and a wee head snuggled into me - and then the same at the other side!

history of love December 08, 2018

Oh, poor, poor snarf :( I am glad you got him back and that Nikki was supportive and helpful when you needed it most.
x

Marg history of love ⋅ December 10, 2018

Yes - both helped tremendously!

history of love December 08, 2018

I'm semi famous! :) thanks for linking me - I had no idea my entry would get the reception it has.
x

Marg history of love ⋅ December 10, 2018

No problem - I was wishing we were back on Open Diary because I would totally have nominated that for the Reader’s Choice or whatever it was called!😊

edna million December 12, 2018

Oh, Marg, I am SO sorry - what an awful thing to go through, and so close to losing Willow. It made me cry just to read it - it's so hard to lose a furry family member. But I'm so glad Nikki had such a turn-around at a time when you really needed her. Hopefully she'll stay that way! How is Bailey adapting to being an only child?

Marg edna million ⋅ December 12, 2018

He's absolutely loving it Beth! He's so funny - he normally sleeps at the bottom of my bed but you can tell he wants to be closer to me now so he's working his way up very gradually each day! And I get occasional visits for 2-minute snuggles every now and then - it's so cute😸

edna million Marg ⋅ December 12, 2018

LOL! How sweet! And I'm sure that helps with missing Snarf-

Marg edna million ⋅ December 12, 2018

Yeah though I still do miss him cos he was always RIGHT THERE or on top of me half the time! And it's weird not hearing the cat flap any more .... But yes it's much better than if I was left with no cat at all!

Slowpoke December 14, 2018

I'm new to your diary. I once had two cats which were brothers. They died within 4 weeks of each other. One from Cancer and the other of a broken heart. It took me a year to get over losing both cats. I'm sorry you had to go through this. Take Care of Yourself.

Marg Slowpoke ⋅ December 14, 2018

Oh my goodness - that's awful! I'm so sorry you had to go through that - they become such a presence in our lives don't they? Thank you for reading and noting!

Justlovely December 21, 2018

Marge, I am only seeing this now, much after you posted it. I'm so sorry for your loss. What a harrowing experience, and I'm glad you were at least able to bring him home, in the end.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ December 26, 2018

Thank you and yes it made a tremendous difference being able to say goodbye to him properly and bury him!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.