NJM18 - 24: RAD: Wine-ish in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 24, 2018, 7:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: Wine-ish (aka “Perry” from earlier posts, but Wine-ish suits better)

Introduction Platform: An old-fashioned SET UP! A former colleague of mine sent me a text asking about my relationship status and telling me she wanted to introduce me to a good friend of hers. I said…sure! And voila. She sent an introductory text and he took it from there.

Age: Not sure, but I’m guessing anywhere between 45 and 52ish

Relationship Status: Divorced, but not sure how long. Has lived in his apartment for a year now, I believe…this info has not yet been discussed and you’ll see why as you read on.

Job: Sales Executive for furniture company

Lives: in a neighborhood about 25 minutes away from me

Length of Date: 5 hours

We Did: He’d invited me over to watch the tree lighting with Paula (former colleague) and her husband. I’d never seen this particular lighting before as it is in a part of town I rarely visit, but the park that his fancy apartment overlooks is well known for this particular holiday event. It’s not just the lighting of one big tree - it’s literally the lighting of a whole forest of trees - it turns into a park filled with colorful lights and it truly is a sight to behold.

Anyway, he had wine and cheese and other hors d’oeuvres. I brought my vanilla popcorn treats. They are ALWAYS a hit We started out with bubbly and moved on to his “fancy” wines - some expensive and old bottles of cabernet and some other stuff that I didn’t/don’t recognize because I’m not into red wines that much…just know that he tried to impress us with the ‘91 Caymus (which, eh, was fine…of course I Googled…it’s like a $120 bottle). We toured his apartment building, which is like a super fancy hotel with gorgeous spa, making sure to include the “wine room” that literally has different lockers for tenants to store their fancy wines and such and a big table and a bar for tastings. Not gonna lie, it was pretty sweet. Overlooked the beautiful lighted forest.

The lighting was pretty spectacular - we watched from his 10th story balcony which overlooked the whoooollle scene.

We also drank too much red wine. He kept opening bottles and pushed us to taste all.

He Looked: Taller, more handsome and in better shape than I’d seen from FB stalking. Of course, it could possibly be the recently divorced look that a lot of men seem to get.

I Looked: Dressed for a lighting ceremony. I have these amazing sequin and velvet covered cowgirl booties that are soooo festive (and I can’t believe nobody said anything about them!). Wore them with my gray denim and a long, bell-sleeve fit and flare button up shirt. It’s a statement piece. I guess you could call it Festive Statement attire.

Convo: It was a group convo the whole time. Paula was great keeping a lot of the convo flowing because she was the common denominator. She and I have traveled the globe together and now she travels the globe with Wine-ish, so we could relate. Paula and her husband are building a house in the mid century modern style, so we talked a lot about design, and of course, Wine-ish and Paula are both working at the furniture company, so we never ran out of things to discuss.

High Point: Wine-ish has a gorgeous apartment and pretty good style. Are there things I’d change about his decor, sure…but I’m not one to talk right now with the apartment sitch I’m sitting in (more about this later - I’m in the process of Christmas decorating!).

Low Point: No huge sparks…and the really low thing is that I can’t stop thinking about The Scot. I am pining for someone I’ve never touched and would actually choose the guy I haven’t touched of this…a tangible experience. Face it, Wine-ish is nowhere NEAR as funny as The Scot (who is HILARIOUS). In face Wine-ish is not funny, really at all. He was even trying to show off, which was a turn-off to me.

How It Ended: Paula and her husband left around 10pm (we’d been there since 5:30) and I followed shortly thereafter. He gave me a couple of pecks on the lips, and it was fine but not tingly in any way. Truly, nothing spectacular but nothing terrible either.

Chances Are: 100%. I’ve agreed to go to brunch with him tomorrow. That way it will be the two of us ONLY, one-on-one and I can see if we hit it off on our own. I felt like the wine swayed me a little bit back and forth.

Date Rating: B-. Nothing wrong, but nothing awesome stood out.

I have lots more - I need to write about Thanksgiving itself, but I have other stuff to do and I wanted to get this RAD out before I got super tired again.

xox,
GS


Last updated November 24, 2018


bobbi01 November 24, 2018

Good on you for giving him a second chance.

Deleted user November 24, 2018

I hope Brunch goes well !

The Thirsty Oriental November 24, 2018

I hope it goes well tomorrow!

plushcreep November 24, 2018

I'm hoping for a killer brunch date and then DETAILS of course!

Marg November 25, 2018

Looks like The Scot won that one - good luck tomorrow!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.