A LOVELY FOUR DAYS in Postcards 4

  • Nov. 24, 2018, 12:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

” *Carol, Robert, and George after breakfast this morning. *

It’s eight, and I have time to start my blog. At nine, we are having breakfast with Carol and her husband Robert. Carol is an excellent quilter and I can discuss my quilt problems with her. Just now I can write a few words, read Dear Abby, and get dressed. I’m on a mission as is George.

Asides for the day:
We were looking for a good black sweater for me. I had bought two black ones at Tar-jay and both had fallen apart right away. At Ross as I rounded a corner, I saw an old, fat woman in the mirror. It was me. And I didn’t recognize me at all. I have already reduced my portion sizes, and I am once again in the pool. Soon I will be able to get into all my old clothes again. All those actions won’t get rid of the wrinkles, but the shape should be right. Being almost 80 will wrinkle you.

Thanksgiving dinner out was far bigger than generous. Too much to eat. Having Pam for a companion was the best part of the day. We came home and had a small dessert here. That was before I saw myself in the mirror.

I’m so thankful for:
• Being clean and sober. If not I would be dead.
• Having George in my life, and yesterday was his 34th birthday.
• Not being homeless. Sleeping in a bathtub has no charms for me now, but it did keep me the cleanest homeless person ever.
• So lucky to have friends like Robert and Carol tho they now live far, far away.
• So blessed that mother lost money we were able find and buy this condo.
• Grateful to feel as well as I do.
• Grateful G’s knee is doing so well now.
• Grateful I have two kids that remember I exist.
• Blessed to have a few grandkids that remember we both exist.
• Grateful to have had G for 35 years.
• Grateful to have journal and blog readers since 1974.
• So very thankful that we live one mile from the beach.
• Even more grateful that we live one mile from the bay.
• Best of all, very thankful that I can walk in the pool.
• Blessed that I can still drive.
• And of major interest, as Tabor writes, Chocolate.


Last updated November 24, 2018


Marg November 24, 2018

Wonderful gratitudes! I'm grateful you write here so that I can read you :)

woman in the moon November 24, 2018

Robert has a very nice shirt.

Very good list of good things in your life.
Just thinking how being clean and sober has been such a gift not only to you but to so many others.

Hillbilly Princess November 24, 2018

.

Deleted user November 24, 2018

I love your list !

NorthernSeeker November 25, 2018

Ah, lovely times out with friends and a big list of gratitudes. Sometimes our reflections look bigger than we are in reality. Just saying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.