NJM 23 2018 in MoMoMo

  • Nov. 23, 2018, 2:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Write about the hardest decision you have had to make.

My family was falling apart. I had to put my brother through high school. My parents weren’t parents. There was so much crap going on.

I love my first husband. I knew, when I married him, that it wasn’t going to last forever. We came from two very different worlds, but I wanted to enjoy his world while I could.

But, when my mom’s drinking got way out of hand, I knew that I didn’t want my children or my ex-husband to be subject to a life I thought was “normal”.

So I pushed my ex away hard enough, and he asked for a divorce. I didn’t fight him.

I also told him to take our kids…take them far away.

That was the closest I had been to feeling like my heart was truly broken.

I cried for years. I still cry.

And I got my brother through high school.

But my life was set. IS set.

It’s easy to be the “good”, to teach your child all those “good” things.

Its hard to be the “villian”…to be the undercurrent. I have made all the mistakes, lived through many consequences of those mistakes…all to show them that bad decisions are a part of life.

So I watch them from a distance. As for my ex?

I make sure he stays away. He is remarried. But, I keep him and our kids away from all this mess the best I can.


Shattered November 23, 2018

:(

Gilraent November 27, 2018

::gentle hugs:: I cannot imagine...

You are a wonderful person, even though you had to be the "villain" . I know first hand what alcohol does to a family. I might as well had custody of my niece when she was a tween.

Love you, my friend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.