MORE FIRE INFORMATION + EDIT in Postcards 4

  • Nov. 12, 2018, 10:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Map: CAL Fire through ABC10

• I haven’t heard from my Friend Bobbie this morning. She has hundreds of friends waiting for a call or message. The list of notes on her Facebook site is growing. She lives right in the middle of that map.
• My friend Katy, who lives in Comptche CA writes, and I post with permission:
• “How to help make sure you survive when you live in a rural area tips…#! Is your house number clearly marked on your access road to you property so fireman can find you? #2 can a fire truck drive down your driveway and TURN AROUND…if it can’t you need to widen out your driveway and parking area #3 if you have a water tank or water storage make sure a fire engine can hook into it…this usually involves an stanchion and a chain holding an adapter of some kind so the fire truck can suck up the tank’s water…all three of these ideas help firefighters defend your home…
• Katy again: Hi there…when I DID think we were going to loose the house in a wildfire I took photo albums, cash, computer and a good bottle of Scotch…what I forgot was my paper address book (it’s not on computer) My car was loaded and ready to exit, but off to the side of the road so fire trucks could access the road…they did moments later. Daughter got home, loaded her stuff and the family photos in the hallway and her dad’s white Birkenstock work shoes for his nursing job…a uniform could be replaced, white Birk’s would have been harder. We’re assembling a 3 day emergency supplies barrel (30 gallon) ex-olive container…water filter, food, blankets, radio/flashlights/batteries, food enough to carry a family 3 days after an earthquake sheltering in place. We’re also turning the church basement into a 30 person shelter with generator, food, water, fuel, radios, first aid supplies while organizing the community. Our daughter is in charge of the phone tree for east Comptche Valley and has a radio to communicate with the fire department. County sheriff told the community to figure on 2 weeks before we’d get outside help. Luckily we have doctors and health professionals who live here. Given wildfires I’m inclined to have my cash in a glass jar buried in the yard as having it in a barrel that could melt would be no good. When Tassajara Hot Springs above Carmel thought they were going to loose everything in a fire they wrapped up all their sacred texts and dug a hole in their biggest lawn and buried everything there underground…luckily they stopped their fire too…Katy
• Two stories from the back country of California.


Nov. 13:
Bobbie is still home now with Calabasas and Hidden Hills being evacuated. I love her, but she doesn’t remember we are all out here worrying about her. 101 has reopened but the road through Topanga is still closed.

George is ignoring his empty stomach by playing computer games. I need to feed me before we head to surgery. It’s going to be an interesting day.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: His queue looks really good today. Tomorrow he is off work, and probably will take a few more sick days too. He’s to get up every 45 minutes, walk, and do leg lifts and ankle exercises.

  • Myself: Today: Laundry, cleaning, bank, grocery shopping for what I can carry up the stairs to feed him. And I got it all done.

  • Reading: Nothing. The ugliness of the last book put me on hold.

  • Gratitude’s: The heater. It was 40 outside this morning.


Last updated November 13, 2018


Deleted user November 12, 2018

Lots of worry here for California. I have not heard yet today from my friend :-( but she was ok last night . They said on the news this morning the fires have not slowed down. It’s snowing here and I wish I could magically send it all there !
I definitely think if you are living in the line of Fire you need to have a detailed plan for evacuation ready at all times ; For you and your animals . Last night on the news they showed loose horses running down the streets in Paradise. It makes me cry. My friend tells me there are lots of animal rescue groups working there so that has to help . I know the firefighters have to be exhausted and feeling overwhelmed .

Zipster November 12, 2018

Good info, thanks. I hope your friend Bobbie has evacuated and makes contact soon.

MageB Zipster ⋅ November 13, 2018

I called her. The evacuation zone is creeping up on her.

NorthernSeeker November 15, 2018

I hope you can find a more uplifting book to read. Nothing good comes from ugly images taking root in your brain...bad for the spirit. If you are like me you feel it is disloyal to carry one with your life while your friends are facing danger but really you can help more people if you stay neutral if not upbeat.

gattaca November 17, 2018

I have friends in Citrus Heights who have literally 'run for the hills' to Tahoe (the Nevada side). They expect to be there for at least a week. What a tragedy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.