NJM 04 2018 in MoMoMo

  • Nov. 4, 2018, 4:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Finish this sentence: “People would think that I’m exaggerating, but until…“

…until you have lived on a reservation, you don’t know what “poor” and “third-class citizen” is.

I didn’t know what air-conditioning/central air was until I was 16.

Each family got commodities from the government. Those rations consisted of expired, canned food. At the end of the month, we were eating once a day on the weekend.

We walked the roads for cans to redeem for toilet paper and cheap shampoo and soap.

Healthcare was horrible. If you had diabetes back then, you were getting an amputation, and most likely dying of diabetes. We never had updated education and medicine. We still don’t to this day.

At one point, our school was in the bottom 1% of the entire nation.

I graduated with a class of 15 people because a lot of people dropped out due to having kids, or using drugs.

But I made it through all of that. Because of that, I am grateful for what I have. I do the best I can to give back.


Small Town Girl November 04, 2018

:( Incredibly sad.

Leanne 🌈 November 04, 2018

WOW! Glad you made it through it all.

The Thirsty Oriental November 04, 2018

That’s awesome you made it through!

Shattered November 04, 2018

Wow... I knew things were bad, but I didn’t know it was that bad. :(

QueSeraSera November 04, 2018

What!!!!!

QueSeraSera November 04, 2018

I am glad you made it through BUT I did not know.
I am going to research this.
Hugs

Nin November 06, 2018

I cant imagine. My husband spent some time on a reservation (with a friend) and he tells me the same things. Its horrible and I am sorry you had to go through that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.