NoJoMo 3 in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • Nov. 3, 2018, 9 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Prompt One:
3. What “holiday” falls on your birthday? Would/will you celebrate it?

Apparently, my birthday also happens to be “World Press Freedom Day” which recognizes the value of freedom of expression, and the sacrifices journalist have made to attain this freedom. It was created, and is sponsored, by the United Nations. While we enjoy this freedom in the United States, freedom of the press, and freedom of expression, is not a given right in many countries.

This may be a cop out answer, but I like to feel that I celebrate it every day. I read BBC every morning, I review CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC… I still periodically read the NHK. I openly discuss news and politics wherever and whenever. So other than setting a specific time to intentionally specifically mark the occasion.... I just like to think I honor it as much as I can.

BTW… actually SUPER glad my birthday is on a Friday this year. Maybe I’ll actually get to do something fun for turning 35. Hell, my Wife’s favorite joke when someone turns 35 is “Now you can run for President!” so maybe we’ll have a giant ol’ political campaign theme party or something, lol.

Prompt Two:
Nobody knows that I..

Well… I’ll promise two things. First, I’ll promise that this IS something Wife knows because… there really isn’t a valid “nobody knows that I” if it is something that Wife doesn’t know. Second, this be gross.

So, there are two bodily things I do which I know I should stop but they be difficult to break.

I am just a voracious nail biter. Like… I am downright SAVAGE on that shit. You know how your nails grow and as the nail crests the skin line the nail starts to look white? Mine don’t do that. Because I have never had nails long enough to “crest the skin line”. It goes nail, quarter inch of skin, end of the finger.

The other one? I got nose issues. My sinuses are constantly clogged, it is constantly difficult to breathe out of my nose and I just wish I could shove a damned vacuum up there and get all the damned snot out. So I use every method possible. Fingers, facial tissue, toilet paper, Q-tips. And there’s always way more… and the truth is… for the last 3 years… it has less and less been snot or boogers and more and more been scabs and blood. I have a nose bleed approximately once per day. Irritating as hell!


Purple Dawn November 03, 2018

I have horrible sinus'. Have you talked to a doc about that? Mine got a bit better when I got an allergy shot but the sneezing, snotting and always congested stuff was driving me insane. I'd get in to see an EENT if I was you, sounds like you are irritating the nasal passages more and you could do some real damage.. jmo
Take care,

Rhapsody in Purple November 18, 2018

My husband has similar sinus issues. The last few years he’s been doing salt therapy which has helped a lot.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.