Sneaker Waves and a Changeable Ocean in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 21, 2018, 8:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We go hang out on the Oregon Coast twice a year for 3 days in April and October and there is always some rain and if we are lucky maybe now and then a sunny day. This trip we had fog early and gorgeous irresistible weather the rest of the time. Not hot, with the wind, but most definitely not cold.

I was out in it as much as I could handle, walking on the beach, jogging slowly through the upscale private community next to where we stay, wandering around looking for wild bunnies.

When we got home in April we checked with people with rabbits what the best food for them was and we heard kale and organic carrot tops, the greens. We had been feeding them carrot chunks and were pretty sure that wasn’t the healthiest thing for them.

So of course this trip we have our organic carrots with the tops attached and the kale and I could not find one wild bunny.

That is until this morning when we were packing the car to come home (sniff) and Most Honorable and I were distributing carrot tops in the dune grass when I spied across the street a (perfectly colored for camouflage) buff and brown bunny scooting out from under a car.

He came over and pulled a long stringy carrot top from my hand.

What is it about feeding wild animals? I also had the blessing of attention earlier by an adorable golden retriever puppy.

I think it was midday on Saturday I was fussing around with my iPad mini and said out loud, “I am not doing anything useful” and Kes and Most Honorable responded with a unison exclamation of, “Good!”

Friday afternoon Most Honorable and I were walking on the beach near the wave line and talking about personal fitness statistics in a lively and engaged way and this sneaker wave came up behind me and I got soaked in freezing water up above my knees. It was quite something. We got my sweat pants dry before we left but those old running shoes were still wet this afternoon. Luckily I had other shoes with me.

Then yesterday afternoon another less powerful sneaker wave soaked us both again. We walked around the long way back to our rental thinking we could avoid at least some dry sand coming into contact with our wet shoes. And today Kes had to jump out of the way when an observant woman noticed yet another sneaker wave headed towards her.

She was able to get mostly out of the way.

I wonder if there are conditions at the beach that are more conducive to this phenomenon? But of course the other factor is that we were all on the beach more than normal because the weather was so fine.

We continue to be way below normal rainfall and while the gorgeous colorful crunchy fall leaves everywhere and the blue sky is so lovely it is a bit disconcerting.

I did miss the cats but my cat sitter did a great job keeping them entertained and out of trouble.

The ocean was different every day. There was a constant changing landscape of clouds and fog and sun and a big sky full of stars at night.

There were two women staying two doors down with those big bubble maker tools and while at first they were doing it for the cluster of kids with them after a time the children kind of lost interest but the women steadfastly made bubbles and watched them float out onto the waves to surprise unwary surfers focused on their waves.

It was so great to get away.

Absolutely. I just need another week…or three.


Last updated October 22, 2018


Lyn October 21, 2018

You deserve another week or three!

Zipster October 22, 2018

Ah yes, vacations are never long enough, especially in such a soothing place. I bet your boys were happy to see you.

Marg October 24, 2018

So glad you had such a nice time despite getting constantly soaked by sneaker waves! Just not long enough☹️

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.