The Rest of the Day in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • Oct. 17, 2018, 7:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, after using my wastebasket for a vomit container…
I removed my briefcase from the tiny “couchlette” in my office, used my trench coat like a pillow, and took a 30 minute nap. Only 30 minutes because I had hearings to attend. At those hearings, I was in a great deal of physical pain, had cold sweats the entire time, and excused myself (thinking I would vomit again) on 3 separate occasions. Hearings ran long so I was at the courthouse from 10 until 12:30(ish). Come back to my office thinking I’d have tons of e-mails and phone calls; but nope. Nothing. Turns out that clearing a week for a trial that didn’t happen worked too well, lol. I then shifted the contents of my wastebasket into the toilet. Wanted the floor cleared before I did that, so the noon hour was the perfect time for it. I really want to leave, call it a day, drive back to my little apartment, grab all my sheets and blankets, make an impromptu bed in my living room, and play video games and sleep interchangeably. I’ll have to wait, though. I wouldn’t just up and leave while everyone is gone. And I want to see if County Attorney is leaving early today as well. He’s moving his mother in law back to the Retirement Home that had to be evacuated during the tornado. Even if he leaves, I’ll still call it an early day. But if he leaves at say, 2:00? I’ll stay ‘til 4. If he leaves before 2:00? I may skedaddle around 3.
alt text
So he definitely left at noon as he has not returned and has turned his light off. But I’m likely going to stay until at least 4. Because that is the kind of person I am. If I was legitimately sick, maybe I would have left at noon as well. But I did this to myself. Even if it was an accident. So I should stay at work and deal with the consequences of my actions. It is who I am. AND largely explains why I became a prosecutor, lol. Though… I will be pretty hungry by 4, so I’ll likely grab a bite to eat as well. If that stays down, I’ll know I am in the clear.
alt text
THE UNTHINKABLE HAS JUST OCCURRED I am a member of the Buffy the Vampire Slayer forums and facebook group. Typically, people put up clips from the show and those clips are discussed. FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER, I DID NOT REMEMBER/RECOGNIZE THE CLIP! That just… doesn’t happen to me. With TV Shows?! Are you kidding me? Star Trek, Angel, Buffy, Farscape, and more… if I’ve seen the show, I remember. ESPECIALLY Buffy!

The scene involves a ghost facing off against Buffy. Tara and Willow are doing a spell, Willow says “Solid” and the apparition becomes solid. Buffy cuts its head off and Dawn says, “That’s probably one of the things I’m not supposed to see, right?”

I HAVE NO MEMORY OF THIS SCENE! I think I need to rewatch the series this winter.
alt text
Well… my head hurts, I’m still tired, I’m hungry… and I think I’ve been too accommodating to Defense Lawyers today. Serves me right.

When Wife and I live together again?
(1) She’ll intentionally curb my drinking
(2) She’s much better about making sure I eat something than I am
(3) I’ll have my favorite Drinking Glasses back so that even when I do drink, I won’t over/under pour the alcohol
(4) Best Bed returns. I won’t be on the Guest Bed but on the really good one we picked out and bought in Tiny Town.

2 weeks to closing!


Always Laughing October 17, 2018

Hope you feel better tomorrow.

four leaf clover October 17, 2018

Ugh hope you feel better

Rhapsody in Purple November 16, 2018

We are currently watching Buffy. It’s my first time. There is a group of people on Twitter watching together. With the tome difference, it probably won’t work for you. We just finished season one.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.