Happy Thanksgiving in A Day in the Life of Me

  • Oct. 8, 2018, 10:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Usually a day here were families cook up big turkey feasts and chow down with a big crowd, then everyone passes out in various stages of turkey comas and basically veg out for the rest of the day/evening.
Well… alot of people if they have the time will have actually done the cooking/feasting yesterday, leaving today as a relaxing/visiting/sleeping day.
We both worked yesterday, and as its October, our haunted house is up and running again, so we we’re open there last night, so we did a ham dinner here just the two of us plus the furbebe, and that was around 4pm so we’ve just been sitting around playing our respective online games and having a day at home together.
We usually have it at the uncles, but i had figured they would have their feats yesterday so I had planned ahead, only to find out otherwise on the ride home last night lol.

I have two days off this week along with today, and today is not a stat holiday, so i am SOL for hours at work and it fucking sucks.
I’ve been toying with the idea of actually looking for a new job. I’ve been at this one 5 years this month… but I am seriously tired of overbearing, self-entitled, time-wasting customers. I try so hard when I go in every day, telling myself, that today is not going to be one of those days, people are going to be decent, that not every customer that walks through the door is going to be a day ruiner, and everyday with in the first hour, no matter how hard I try, there is always that one bloody person who seems to go out of their way to ruin my day.
Also, the fluctuating hours is really stressing me out again. I miss summer vacation time when I get full time hours, instead of waiting between now and christmas, hoping HO will give us an hour boost so I CAN get more hours, and then freaking out again after the holidays when they drop and I’m back to basically part time. I do not want to get another part time job again, after over two years of that, I am finally enjoying having days off to myself.

Something has gone wonky with my gst cheque. It didn’t get direct deposited friday, like it should have and I didn’t get any notice of them keeping it, not that they should have as all my taxes have been paid up.. I am seriously hoping for what ever reason, it shows up in the mail tomorrow…

Wow this entry turned into a whinefest… sorry, let me write about something positive for a bit…lol
D’s best mate who stood for us at our wedding is coming up with his misses and their youngest. D is so stoked he can’t wait! He’s trying to come up with all these ideas of things to do and go. Tourist season is pretty much over now, but there is still a bit to do here in the city.
The little one wants to do halloween up right since their going to be here for it, so I want to decorate the house, and maybe get a couple pumpkins to decorate as well, but I have a feeling M is going to try and wrangle me for Hal-con again… which is the last weekend of the month, and will eat up alot of the time.. lol sorry whining again…

Oh! D surpried me last night with a huge container of gel coloured pens! 100 different colours!! Its one of the sets Costco gets, so if any of you shop there you probably know the ones I mean. Anyway i looked it over last night, and the base that is in the container, can actually be dismantled and reassembled to sit in different ways, so that’s pretty cool!

Just finished reading Crazy Rich Asians, I got it after seeing all the ads for the movie, it looks pretty decent lol. I want to get the following two books now. I found the story lines really interesting, and there was so much character development through alot of the characters that I actually can’t wait to read the others.

Speaking of which, if any of you are interested in dystonia/Post Apocalyptic reading, an old manager/friend of mine has turned author and has two full series out now one is the New Bloods trilogy (Awaken, Ascension, and Annihilation) and the other is nicknamed The Bixbey series, (its the Strain of Resistance, Strain of Defiance, and Strain of Vengeance) her name is Michelle Bryan ( https://www.facebook.com/MichelleBryan.Author/ ) and you can find her books on Amazon. She’s also on goodreads.
I’ve read everything so far she has put out, and while it’s mostly listed as YA Post Apocalyptic, it’s still decent reads!!


toddslife October 08, 2018

Happy Thanksgiving

Canadian Lass toddslife ⋅ October 09, 2018

thanks, same to you!

Bomb Shell October 11, 2018

Happy (late) thanksgiving!

I hear you on the customers, I HATED working in retail, I’ve never met so many rude people!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.