The Courage of My Convictions in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 8, 2018, 11:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I feel like there is sexual discrimination where I work. I am pretty sure that Saint Joe, who is 34 years younger than me but a strapping blond motorcycle riding guy makes close to as much money as I do, or will shortly. But more than that it is the fact that everyone defers to him rather than me. Particularly our boss.

Our boss was at one time a few years back part of the Lord of the Flies gang that was led by my current boss then, the one that stared at my breasts all the time. There is no hint of sexual harassment with my current boss, (he has an 8-month-old baby at home and just trying to get enough sleep) but he totally and completely is more comfortable with and defers to Saint Joe.

He won’t talk to me for weeks but comes in and talks to Saint Joe when I am at lunch or gone for the day.

This is making me resentful.

I talked to Mrs. Sherlock and another person about this last weekend and we were talking about what options I had available to express and address this. They did mention that it was possible that I was actually subtlety encouraging this behavior because my interpersonal relations with the people I work with are so bizarre based on the history of the Lord of the Flies Gang, the Evil Empire, and the upper level manager boss wanted me fired because I was pushing my big project.

We were also talking about the Kavanaugh hearings and I mentioned that this was a particularly intense time for me as person who had been victimized by sexual violence.

Mrs. Sherlock suggested I go to one of the #MeToo Circles forming at the church. I said I wasn’t ready for going that day but that I would check them out. What I didn’t want to do was go sit in a room with people who identify as women telling their stories of victimization. I wanted to do something about violence, harassment and discrimination against women. I wanted to take action.

My therapist person wasn’t available at any time this last week that I was available with my doctor’s appointment so I scheduled a session with her yesterday late morning. This meant I didn’t have time to get to church and back and talk to her. So I stayed home and watched the livestream while prepping veggies and making oatmeal and quinoa for the week.

In the meantime I had emailed the church and asked if it was okay if I went to the #MeToo support group even though I had missed the first one. I received an email back saying, sure, just tell the facilitators I had been added to the list.

So after I talked to my therapist I put on my too long new rain pants (they didn’t have a petite size available) that accommodate my relatively recent 15 lb. weight gain and walked to the church in the rain. It takes me a half hour.

It was so awkward, I got there and the facilitators are like no, we turned people away last week, there is a wait list. They were so nice. They wanted me to stand in the hall so when everyone got there they could ask all the participants if I could join and I am like no way!!! I’ll just go.

They kept me talking in the hall for about 10 minutes but I finally extracted myself and walked home. (I did meet this absolutely wonderful woman in the hall that had heard about my yoga classes from a couple of my students that go to a contemplation group with her.)

Later after I had been home awhile, our one female minister called and left a message apologizing. She also sent an email. She told me in the email that they were going to tell their stories yesterday. Eek.

I haven’t for a minute regretted having disengaged from the church for my yoga classes. I have been a member of this church for 20 years and I am very fond of many of the people that go there, including all my students that do, but I think I may be coming to the end of my time as a member. I think I am about to become a former member.

This situation yesterday was an unfortunate misunderstanding and miscommunication but there is just something about the focus and way the organization is run that doesn’t sit well with me. And I don’t have the time to do anything about it.

I need to be out there in the mix with people I admire taking what little free time I have available and using it to embody the courage of my convictions.

It would be great if how to do that became as clear to me as my commitment to honoring my inner pony is.

To quote the loathsome president of this country… “We shall see.”


Last updated October 08, 2018


toddslife October 08, 2018

nice photo

Lyn October 08, 2018

You will find a way.

mcbee October 08, 2018

Troubling times for many of the women in our country. I've been in a state of shock and denial but now must face all the issues this has brought up for me and increase my community involvement as well. I write letters and make calls, but they all seem so fruitless when pitted against this giant uncaring machine we call our leaders.

woman in the moon October 08, 2018

How do you know the boss visits Saint Joe when you are not there?

I need to write about me too. I feel though that almost anything I say politically will bother some people. I also feel we agree until we disagree... know what I mean? We can be very close but we are never the same person. Ever.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ October 08, 2018

He knows stuff he didn’t know before so I ask him and he tells me.

But still we can find common ground in a garden or a pet or pizza?

woman in the moon noko ⋅ October 08, 2018

Yes, life is full of common ground. I thought I remembered a political movement in the 60s or 70s started by a liberal Republican from Illinois??? called Common Ground. But I googled and wikied and could not find anything.

Marg October 09, 2018

What?? How can they have a waiting list and yet they can have someone stand around feeling self-conscious and have to wait until the group decide to accept or reject them? That's crazy!

noko Marg ⋅ October 09, 2018

Exactly! I felt like I was in school waiting to see if I was going to get picked for the team. I know their intentions were good but it put me in this oh so awkward position. If they had said, sorry, the class in full I would have totally understood.

Marg noko ⋅ October 09, 2018

Yes that would have been much better!

edna million October 09, 2018

Gorgeous picture! That's really annoying about Saint Joe and your boss. And the group! These are such a distressing/maddening times.

noko edna million ⋅ October 09, 2018

Totally off topic but did you know that Charlaine Harris has a new series, or a first book in a new series out? It is an alt history, western girl gunslinger magician mash up and is quite enjoyable. I am just finishing the audiobook now. It is called "An Easy Death". There are similarities with True Blood but no vampires...yet.

edna million noko ⋅ October 09, 2018

No!!! I will check that out - after spending so long reading the True Blood books, I miss her! It would be good to have something cheering. And on a similar note, I watched the first episode of the latest Doctor Who last night, via VPN, and LOOOOVED Jodie Whittaker as The Doctor. So, there's that too-

noko edna million ⋅ October 09, 2018

Too cool! I look forward to our first woman Doctor and one from Broadchurch to boot.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.