air show in 2018

  • Oct. 3, 2018, 12:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

4:37pm

Finished another class so I’m feeling productive enough today.

Actually I have done quite a bit work-wise. Just stopped to go write checks too because I remembered that was on my list. I’ve accomplished everything I wrote down earlier, as far as I can tell, so time to waste the last hour or so. =)

We decided to work today instead of tomorrow because my mom’s going out of town. She’s going to meet up with a friend and probably party like a rockstar. Meanwhile I will be quietly sitting at home, moving from my bed to the couch, and back again. ;) Well, JR did just invite me over for dinner tomorrow. He’s supposed to have the day off because it’s going to rain [doubt it] and I told him I was dropping mom at the airport in the morning. We’ll see though. He says things like that a lot and then never follows through. I just realized that most of the men I know are absolutely terrible at following through on things. Oh well. I won’t say no to a free dinner when I’m home alone!

Besides that I probably won’t leave the house until I have to go back to get her on Friday night. Unless I get another offer for food. ;) But I’m quite excited to sit quietly all alone for a couple of days. I do miss having my own space sometimes. I never fully recharge when other people are around even if we’re not next to each other 24/7.


Anyway, let me tell y’all about the airshow before I get super distracted rambling on about whatever else pops into my head.

There isn’t a whole lot to tell but I feel like I never write about any of my outings with the client. Like we went to that comedy show back in July, then we went to the movies a couple weeks later. He’s come over to my house a handful of times including to celebrate our “friendiversary.” haha! I did write about going over to his house and finally meeting his parents at least, though that was all very casual.

So he’d asked me if I wanted to go earlier in the week but I said I wasn’t sure. Since he knows me well enough by now he said it was still early and we could decide later. He totally gets that I’m not into being around people all the time, which is awesome.

Either the next day, or the day after, he said he heard an ad on the radio and that the tickets were expensive [$20 a person just to get in] so we both decided the money can be spent on better things.

sidenote: I totally think this dude lives paycheck to paycheck despite having a decent job and living at home! Like I’m pretty sure I have way more in my account and I only work seasonally. What do men do with their money!?!

Then Thursday afternoon, presumably after he’d spent all morning listening to the jets fly over his work, he texted me saying that “we have to go!!!!” When I reminded him we’d already decided and didn’t want to spend the money he said it was fine. He “wanted to have fun” and I should come along. We went back/forth for a bit. I was being really indecisive because I wasn’t feeling people-y. I remembered that he invited me last year as well but it was just as we were getting to know each other and I didn’t go.

Since no decisions were made, although he tried to make it for us, Friday morning I got another text asking if we were going. He seemed really excited for it for whatever reason. I figured I could suck it up and go to this one stupid thing. It’s not like I had anything else going on.

Being the total sucker that I am by the afternoon I’d ended up purchasing both of our tickets online since it was just slightly cheaper. There I was, the person that didn’t want to go, paying for and being in charge of two tickets. haha. Sucker I tell ya! I was just over all the back and forth. Plus he said he had no one else to go with and blah, blah, blah. He won me over.

He picked me up Saturday morning just after 10 o’clock. Drove out there [with his crazy left lane only driving. ugh!] It turned out better than expected. I’ll admit that. We didn’t leave until close to 4pm because of course the main act didn’t fly until 3.

In the end we probably could have paid for the parking fee and laid in his tent to watch the whole show without also paying admission. haha. Could have brought out own snacks that way too! =\ But instead we paid for parking, and food, and beer. Technically he paid for everything since I bought the ticket. I offered to pay each time but he wouldn’t let me. Especially the 2nd beer after we decided to stay late because he’d already covered the cost of the ticket by then. That was nice of him though!

We learned several lessons if we ever go back. Like just because we didn’t pay for a seat [which cost extra!!] we could have brought our own chairs. And more sunscreen. And a hat for me [although I later learned he had like six extra hats in the car!]. And sunglasses. And shorts.
Basically anything sun related. haha. That was because we thought it was going to be foggy/cloudy that day and of course it was the one day that it wasn’t! The skies were clear by the time we got there before 11, which almost never happens. Of course!

We walked around a lot. They didn’t have nearly as many planes as they should/could have. I mean they hardly had anything. They could have even filled the space with old cars, or tractors, or crop dusters. Something! But nooo. I wasn’t in charge but I had like a million ideas on how to make it better! Plus I had planned to spend the whole time shopping at all the little vendors and buying useless junk. Well, turns out that they only had one vendor besides their own advertising stuff. I was so bummed! I actually meant to go back and buy a little plaque from the one guy that said, “I need my space” and had a laser cut out of stars and a rocketship. haha. The client actually pointed it out to me. Part of me thinks he did it as a dig at me for my lack of socializing, but I couldn’t tell for sure. hah.

Hanging with him wasn’t bad at all. We had more to talk about than just his work, which makes it a lot less boring. I think I’ve realized that he’s not very good with silence. He seems to have a need to fill the void with words and that’s why he fills it with work talk. I wish he could get used to living in the silence. But that’s ok.

It doesn’t hurt that I was buzzed on that first [24oz] can of beer and therefore felt pretty free and easy going. It does help to ease the anxiety a bit. [Even more after the 2nd one =P] I tend to lose some of my filter as well. Even caught myself bumping into him and reaching for his arm in that playful touch sorta way. Of course every time it happened I thought “what the hell are you doing Rose?!” and would pull away before it became anything. I’m not sure how aware of it he even was. Hopefully he’s one of those oblivious boys that didn’t pick up on it at all. I wasn’t trying to flirt with him! I just can’t help myself! It’s how I am when I’m relaxed. hah. ;)

So all went well, we had fun, and he dropped me off at home just before 5pm....and then I turned around with my brand new sunburn, and poor dry eyes, and went to my cousin’s house for dinner and drinks!

Then I had to spend pretty much all of Sunday on the couch not moving just to recharge from all the socializing! haha. It was nice though. I’m glad I sucked it up and went. I can’t hide in this house forever..

rose.
10:25pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.