Too Much and Not Enough in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 2, 2018, 6:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are having less than normal rainfall. That makes us a bit uneasy as we imagine we will get, like so many places lately, way too much at once when the rains do return. The trees are turning differently all over town then they usually do.

This afternoon I have my annual skin check. I am so grateful that I have been cancer free for almost 5 years now.

Thursday I am checking in with my primary care doctor to go over all the test results and talk about the dreaded statins.

I have been doing timed bursts of exercise to see if I am making any progress in terms of increasing my aerobic capacity and building endurance. I am making incremental progress.

The resistance and envy continues though. Saturday I was going to meet Mrs. Sherlock at the gym and go walking but she texted me late Friday night saying they were having a plumbing crisis and how about we meet at church on Sunday instead.

So I lazed around a bit on Saturday morning, and then went and did a track workout when the sun came up. It is so much easier to do that than going to the gym. I told myself I would go on Sunday before church.

And I did, but because I was planning on a clothing change and a trip to Trader Joe’s after for the calcium supplements I take I was a bit distracted when I left. So when I got to the gym I realized I had left my lock and towel at home.

And sure, I could have carried my stuff out to the machines or rented a lock and towel but the attendant was busy cleaning and I was annoyed and so I just turned around and walked home.

I did go to church, and then out for tea and conversation with Mrs. Sherlock and another student of mine who we both adore who we met at church and enjoyed getting to know better.

By the time I got home midday I had walked 8½ miles and figured that was enough for the day.

I am hoping talking to my doctor will help me settle into a routine of aerobic activity.

My poetry friend sent me a lovely response to my efforts at our latest poetry prompt and that cheered me up enormously. It turns out she had been in California visiting family and had a good time.

Mrs. Sherlock, ever resourceful fixed her plumbing problem on her own. She was chuffed about that and I understand why. They own two old side-by-side houses that are in constant need of repairs and upgrades. It does allow them to have a large wonderful garden in the heart of the city getting more densely populated by the minute.

She envies my simple life as a renter. I get that.

Yesterday I gave a work presentation to 5 people when I thought it was just going to be two. It was in a very fancy conference room in rented space downtown. It had just started out as an informal Skpe session to go over a few things and turned into this big deal thing and I am still trying to absorb the implications.

They did tell me at the end I am not allowed to retire.

Ha! I’d like to see them try stopping me. :)

I am feeling somewhat calmer this week, as the news cycle has settled down a bit though the terrible news from Indonesia is profoundly disturbing. So much loss and despair and need.

And I am still thinking of the folks trying to make their lives return to some kind of normalcy after Florence. I did find a no kill animal shelter in Fayetteville to contribute to but my heart is with all those folks with beloved pets.

I saw another image last week that haunts me. A young woman in and surrounded by waist high toxic water clutching a big orange cat, making their way into an uncertain future for them both.

I so wish them well. Oh yeah.


Last updated October 05, 2018


Lyn October 02, 2018

Good that you are appreciated and not allowed to retire. 😊

Marg October 05, 2018

Oh that last bit nearly made me cry! And also realise I wouldn't have the stamina to carry either of mine far - what a horrible dilemma - I hope I'm never in it.

noko Marg ⋅ October 05, 2018

Me too! For both of us. I tell you I do not take the simple luxury of having a safe place to live and access to food and clean water for granted. Not to mention the ability to care for and provide the same for my two cats.

Marg noko ⋅ October 05, 2018

Yes exactly - I feel the same!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.