THE GREAT OB FLOOD OF 1983 in Postcards 4

  • Sept. 25, 2018, 11:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


DAY 1: Hungover and leaning up against one of Timothy M’s old cars that I gave to Margot.

I drank a lot the night before. There I was lying in bed near the bedroom window the next morning. A tap, tap woke me, and I stuck my head out to see lifeguard friends on surfboards. The world outside was flooded.

There had been a giant rainstorm. The tides were extra high too. The ocean just rolled onshore right through living rooms, and homes, and cars, to flood our street a block away from the beach.

My house was dry. The water was one inch from the top step of my tiny porch. My twenty-some colored Datsun was high and dry in the back yard. Everybody else’s home was underwater even Milaka’s a block from mine where her new textbooks were on the floor. All the cars on the street but mine were totaled. The electrical wiring was under my house and had to be replaced. The landlady was highly annoyed, angry, and fixed it under duress while standing in the yard throughout the repair.

Once I ate some carbs that mornning and took some aspirin, I joined my neighbors out on the street. We moved cars, we helped older folks. Some unprintable in a 4X4 roared through and sent a wave through my living room. He rounded the corner at light speed and hit the Life Guard Unit sitting in a high spot. We all ran after him. It must have been entertaining theater. Later in the day I walked down to the lifeguard tower and from that high perch was able to watch the surf wash away the boardwalk below.

Now, early in the winter season, the city installs a high sand berm the length of the beach. Sandbags are available for anyone who might need them especially those near the beach. So far…the berm has worked well since 1983.


Day 2: Yes, I still smoked, and yes my trashcan was floating away.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Not taking it all quite so seriously.

  • Myself: Slept through my meeting so will hit a nooner. Today writing, sewing, grocery shopping and reading.

  • Reading: Volume 3, see yesterday.

  • Gratitude’s: G, as usual. The grey skies and cool air.


Deleted user September 25, 2018

Wow! You got pretty lucky comparatively . Glad the berm has held up !

Zipster September 25, 2018

OB or PB?

MageB Zipster ⋅ September 25, 2018

OB
:)

Marg September 25, 2018

Goodness somebody up there was looking after you!

Brakeshoe Bob September 25, 2018

Floods, nasty, until they get to you. Smoking...LOL being a young and dumb rail I chewed. Remember Denver in 65, way before i railroaded being flooded when the Platte ran high.. The old head talked about that. The remains were still evident, when I hired out in '73. Unless you are really affected, no one really knows the turmoil and devastation. Ah to be young again. Be well, my thanks The Old Rail

woman in the moon September 25, 2018

Great legs.

MageB woman in the moon ⋅ September 26, 2018

Yes, they were.

Hillbilly Princess September 26, 2018

wow.

NorthernSeeker September 26, 2018

I love to see your irrepressibly high spirits...great photo. Nobody would ever suspect you were suffering from a hangover.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ September 26, 2018

It was a horrible one too. LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.