meet you lucky in 2018

  • Sept. 21, 2018, 2:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

10:29pm

I have another half-finished entry from a couple days ago but this should probably be separate. Not sure why I can’t seem to sit down and finish these things. The list in there has gotten so long over the last six months or so. I can’t seem to finish any thing.

They say I might have a problem with commitment…and I’m starting to believe it’s true!

Bullets seem to help me cut the words [a little tiny bit] so here we go:

  • Had the community expo thing with the chamber today. It was tied to a fall carnival our town is doing. Great concept; not such good execution. It was quiet. The majority of the people walking around were those that had booths there.

Big story of the night part 1:

  • I met TF’s mom!

  • I was sitting there minding my own business when my own mother goes, “hey there’s TF’s mom (motioning behind me)” and I turned around to see her setting up at a table right around the corner from us. Gasp I kept telling mom she wouldn’t recognize her because they didn’t really know each other that well.

  • Turns out I was wrong. A little later I turned around to see her smiling at mom and walking over to say hi to her. Mom asked her what we’d heard about the news and then she realized we were talking about the new neighbour situation.

  • She gave mom a hug. There was some stuff about being new neighbours. She glanced at me a couple times and I knew she didn’t know who I was so I reached out to shake her hand and introduce myself. At the same time mom said I was her daughter and she asked if I lived here too. I said yes, that we’d all be neighbours now. She hugged me too then got distracted by someone else and walked away. hah.

  • A bit later she came by, acted like she didn’t know me, read my company logo and then was like “oh duh. I just met you. haha” and shook my hand again anyway. Such a dope. haha. But it gave me the chance to ask about her moving plans because I’m nosy and curious.

  • Son/wife/family are planning to move like 2nd week of October. She’s going to wait longer since she has her house for sale and probably wait until it’s sold. Maybe start moving little by little.

  • I later found out it was her parents house and they’ve lived there like 60 years. She’s sad. Doesn’t want to move. Wants to keep her house. Likes the city she’s in. Etc. Etc. She told me all about how she was raised here and then moved, moved back, left again. Loves where she’s at. She seems really, really bummed about moving. I honestly can’t believe her son is letting her sell her family home, in a place she loves, just so they can buy a house. Seems super selfish to me…but what do I know?

  • This left me with nothing but the desire to contact TF and be like, “I met your momma today! And she’s going to be my new neighbour!” Just to see what he’d say. But I won’t. I’m not chasing him anymore. Not at all, damnit.

  • I was actually feeling really good about that situation a couple days ago. Just clear and easy. It makes more and more sense to me every day. Why it happened the way that it did.

  • Then, of course, last night I went into my email and read the preview to just about every email we exchanged over the course of our “thing” and that might have been a mistake. But maybe not. It certainly made me cry a bunch. It’s very enlightening though and eye opening. I needed to see that even if it hurt.

  • Things I learned: I don’t ever want to go through that again, he was basically the same the entire time; I just didn’t see it, I was a crazy psycho girl [I scare myself just reading the things I wrote and the way I chased him], I felt that deadline so strongly that that forced me to act way out of character, I wanted him so bad that I couldn’t comprehend why he wouldn’t want me the same, never chasing/begging anyone again no matter how desperate I am for attention [please follow through on this Rose!], probably other things I’m forgetting. It was good regardless.

Big story part 2:

  • I convinced the client to come by to visit me at my booth. He showed up just after six and stayed until I finished about an hour later. He got free wine.

  • He also ended up winning our gift basket!!!

  • We were totally thinking about cheating since there weren’t so many people. We figured we’d just be able to call the name from our office with the way they were running things. Then the announcer starts going on about how they’re getting ready to start the raffles. And of course we’re the first table she stops at. Oh well. Too late.

  • She shuffles, and mixes, and pulls a ticket. I glance at it and instantly recognize it as the clients because he didn’t write his number on it. I look over at the client, who also clearly recognized it and we both start laughing and shrugging while the lady goes on and on before reading it out loud. Finally she calls his name and haha he’s right here! Ta-da! =)

  • I told him later that he lucked out. I got him free wine and a basket of goodies [including a bottle of wine, some calendars, and tons of snacks!!] Everyone wanted to win our basket. hah.

  • He’s been lucky this year. First winning the trailer [which is apparently worth like 8 grand?] and now this. It was so last minute that I invited him too because he’d teased me this morning with doughnuts.

  • During our text exchange later he said something about how he got to see me and won treats so it was win-win.

  • That kid is so nice to me and I’m keeping him at arm’s length.

  • I must be the biggest idiot alive....

Ok. I’m going to bed now. It’s way past my bedtime but I wanted to get some of this out. Not as short as I hoped but better than my usual rambles. =P

rose.
11:43pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.