WIND IN MY HAIR in Postcards 4

  • Sept. 20, 2018, 11:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Heading home from Jo’s on a cold winters night.

In the 60’s, I worked late as a general factotum at the Farman’s Ocean Beach house, and I didn’t have a good top on my car. It was a long drive from Imperial Beach to OB every day. This night I had stopped by Jo’s house, and she didn’t laugh me out of the room.

In 1966, Paul Hawkins had traded in our Chevy station wagon on a new Datsun 1600. I was always going through clutches, and tops as the car went almost a hundred miles every day. The only way I survived coming home at night was to bundle up in layers. Wearing the watch cap, pea coat, brown wool cape, and leather gloves, I folded myself into the front seat warmly. Yes, I certainly looked funny. Yes, the heater always worked and my feet were warm.

Today, I miss my worn out sports car a lot. The truth is that it wasn’t well made though it was well designed. It wasn’t a family car for a mom with two kids either. Neither is my current vee-hickle, a 1995 Chevy pickup that George picked. Perhaps I shouldn’t let my husband’s pick my rides. For impracticable as they are, I fall in love with them.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Working til noon, MRI on that knee, and Dinner out for my birthday.

  • Myself: Write here. Organize piles. Boss let another part time manager, that we dearly loved, go back to her other job. She’s done this twice to us now. I’m cutting my hours down to just Wednesday Books. That should give me some time to quilt. Feeling very lightened after the drivers L affaire.

  • Reading: BONES OF MY GRANDFATHER.

  • Gratitude’s: Cleaning and vacuuming out my closet so that project’s done.


Last updated September 20, 2018


gattaca September 20, 2018

Oh my! You look like a character in one of the Harry Potter movies! :-D

Zipster September 20, 2018

I love your expression in this photo. There's no doubt at all that you were freezing. Ah foolish youth.

GypsyWynd September 20, 2018

That kind of layering was the norm when I was in college. Only way to keep from freezing to death while trekking to and from classes.

"For impractable as they are, I fall in love with them." Do you mean the cars? Or the husbands?😉

MageB GypsyWynd ⋅ September 20, 2018

The cars. LOL

Hillbilly Princess September 20, 2018

.

Deleted user September 21, 2018

The things we do when we are young :-) I loved my Miatas too and it was so hard to realize that because of my spine I could not stand driving one anymore . They were always my “ dream” cars . Now I have a Superbug and I have become attached to that . It drives very nicely and is much more comfortable ; but oh the fun of a Miata :-)

NorthernSeeker September 21, 2018

Your hat and gear remind me of Snoopy in his Red Baron guise.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.