"Round Here night moves for hamlet in Normal entries

  • Sept. 20, 2018, 8:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Woke this morning to the sound of thunder (no, I didn’t stop to wonder nor did I sing a song from nineteen sixty-two, and I sure as hell wasn’t working on the night moves. No more Bob Segar for y’all.). A serious Thunder storm. Not the kind that makes the news, just good old-fashioned Strum and Drang from the lowering firmament (no, it’s not fretted with golden wire, and I know where I lost my fucking mirth. No more Bill Shakespeare for y’all.). Hard cool rain and the rumblings and crashing of the sky ripped with lightening. Ben Franklins lightening, Dr. Frankenstein’s lightening, Edison’s lightening in a box. The sort of thunder storm one expects ‘round here (they’re carving out my name. No more counting crows for y’all) and hopes the ancient power grid holds up.

It’s supposed to come back around in an hour or so, that is if it goes. Otherwise it’s sticking around for an hour or so. The weather app on my phone is highly unreliable, woefully so and chronic.
Fuck it, I lied;
Out in the back seat of my ’60 Chevy/how noble in reason, how infinite in faculty/ she said she’d like to meet a boy who looks like Elvis
Working on mysteries without any clues/In form and movement how express and admirable/the crumbling difference between wrong and right
In the summertime, sweet summertime/In apprehension how like a god/she has trouble acting normal

Whew, sure glad y’all got that out of your system. Except for the weather, everything is sort of same old same old. The weather should be same old same old, but it’s not. As a kid, this would be tornado season, and the thunderstorms would rage. Today it tried it’s best and I applaud the effort. The part of forest gump I remember and related to best is the Gary Sinise on the mast yelling at god during a storm. Other than that, it was just … clever. Clever is a diminutive word. It doesn’t mean smart or good, it means, at best, almost smart or good, or, smarter and goodlier than one expected from the likes of you. Puns, for instance, are called clever, but rarely laughed at.

I apologize to any fans of bob, bill or crows I might have offended; I quoted from memory, poor instrument that it is.


Julienormal September 21, 2018

I tried banning puns from my store but the attempt just made my staff even more keen on them. My disapproval apparently makes it funnier.

haredawg drools Julienormal ⋅ September 21, 2018

Yes, that's why people ignore puns until they go away.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.