meet the parents in 2018

  • Sept. 26, 2018, 4:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

September 18, 2018
8:23pm

I’m still trying to figure out how to make my entries shorter without losing the details that I’d like to remember. I guess in the long run it isn’t going to matter much. I mean, once I’m gone this’ll all just float around the world wide web without anyone really knowing who wrote it. The only real reason I end up writing so much is because I have a terrible memory and sometimes, some things, are worth looking back on.

I went over to the client’s house for the first time yesterday. He lives with his parents, but obviously I am in no position to judge. I really don’t care. It’s a little weird that we’ve been talking for over a year, he’s been to my house multiple times, and I just barely found out his address but whatever. I could have easily figured out where he lived since he’s not far from our high school and he has a very unique truck, but he’d never given me the address.

I don’t really feel like getting into details right now. Maybe highlights?

  • I saw the garage was open but it was just a crack and I thought he heard me pull up on the curb so I went to the front door. I was staring out at the yard [in case they had a camera somewhere haha] and when the light flicked on I expected to turn around and see him.

  • Nope. It was his dad!! I didn’t even know his dad was home! I kinda thought he was inviting me because he was alone. Oh well. His dad asked who I was at about the same time that I said I was looking for the client. As he invited me in I was saying my name but then realized I said my full name and the client only calls me “Rose”. I corrected myself and he said that he hadn’t had the opportunity to meet me yet [or something like that] and I introduced myself again and reached out to shake his hand.

  • He ended up saying something along the lines of, “he told me you were very pretty but I hadn’t had the chance to meet you yet.” eek. How the heck do I react to that? I think I giggled and said, “oh wow....that was very nice of him!” Then followed him to the garage door around the corner.

  • It was a little awkward mostly because I’ve never been in a situation like that before. I didn’t know if he was saying it because the client actually said that or because he was trying to make him look good. haha. Either way. I guess it was nice he said it? Or he’s creepy =P

  • So I ended up hanging out with the client in his garage for a little over an hour. He worked on his trailer and I wandered around, made conversation, and pet the dog. =) His dad actually opened the door a few times. It seemed so random, like he was checking on us. haha. Like we’re a couple of teenagers that may be doing not so holy things. hahaha. It made me smile. He asked more than once if I wanted to stay for dinner and eat enchiladas. He checked on the dog a couple of times because it had just had some kind of surgery, or something. Just whatever excuse he had I guess.

  • At one point he did pop in and say, “oh you’re still here?” and I felt kinda bad like I’d overstayed my welcome. But I tried to leave a couple times. Kept telling the client I was in the way or just bugging him. He kept saying I was fine though and that I wasn’t bothering him at all. So I hung around and did whatever. It’s not like I had anything else to do at home and I like watching people work. I don’t have to worry much about small talk and I like projects.


Sept. 25th

Kinda got distracted on this one. No surprise there. Oh, I just realized it was last Tuesday, so I must have been drinking and got too tired to continue. hah. ;) This should cut back on even more of the rambles since I don’t remember much else I wanted to write.

  • The client was such a typical guy. Not wanting my help or whatever. He doesn’t realize how much I do on our home improvement projects. I don’t want to say that my mom raised me like a man but she definitely raised me to be independent and not need a man. Which is probably because she was the first born and her dad totally raised her like a guy. haha. Oh well though. He can pretend to be all cool and special about it.

  • He did actually, eventually, let me hold a screwdriver. haha! I don’t think he could reach very well from the inside of the trailer to hold it steady on the outside. Plus I’d already asked if I could help like 50 million times. I think he was mostly trying to appease me.

  • Should I be mad that when he did ask me for help he didn’t say please or thank you? ha. That’s petty, right? …Moving on

  • In a new update: I met the client’s mom last night. I asked if I could go to his house to drop off some cake my aunt bought/brought over on Saturday. I didn’t want it to go bad and he’d been gone at the lake all weekend. I knew I’d be busy today and tomorrow.

  • Anyway, I drove across town quickly to drop it off and said I wouldn’t stay long. He was at the door this time waiting for me. I didn’t see any other cars in the drive so I was shocked when we’d made it into the kitchen and he said his mom was in the other room [cue panic while I ran through every thing I’d already said since walking in and hoped it was appropriate for parents ears…eek]

  • Walked in there and said hi. She got up off the couch even though I told her not to make a big deal. haha. Came over and shook my hand while the client introduced me this time [so I didn’t screw up my own name ha].

  • Nice lady. Talked to me a bit. Mostly about the trailer and the dog who’d started barking outside and finally had its cone off. Said she’d heard I’d been over the other day and brought cookies or something. It was cake. And I told her that I didn’t know what happened to it, that I told him to share, but I didn’t know.

  • I thought she’d heard he’d eaten it all but she goes, “oh no I was gone all week visiting (other son).” I looked at the client and laughed because she totally came home the same day he ate it!

  • She eventually left us alone in the garage [after kinda chastising him about having it in there. Geez that boy seriously needs to grow up, budget, and get out of there. It definitely seems like they still treat him like a kid, which I get. It’s in my list of top five things that drive me insane about my own mother, but she doesn’t do it in front of others usually.]

  • I didn’t stay long. About 15 minutes maybe. Told him I’d let him get back to work and he walked me out. I walked to the living room and said bye to his mom. He gave me some huge onions to take home. hah. And I walked outside while the dog barked at me like she hadn’t already seen me several times.

  • Nice people, but I don’t know…


  • The only other note I left in here was to mention that I was feeling ok about TF again. I think I have more to write about that in a new entry though so we’ll skip it

rose.
8:40pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.