Made it! in Scottish Meanderings

  • Sept. 23, 2018, 3:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I made the reunion!

Not only did I manage the 3 hour drive up there (although had to have a lie down before I could get ready to go out) but I managed to stay out until half past 12 which was amazing! It was a fantastic night and I was really pleased I was able to get there and enjoy it. I didn’t get off to sleep afterwards until past 3 a.m. so was pretty tired next day but I was still able to pop over to my sister’s before I drove home and have a ‘quick cuppa’ which turned into a 3 hour yap! So was chuffed at that too.

It was funny the memories we were coming out with though - I was fascinated with the fact that 3 separate people came up to me and said they remembered the birthday parties I used to have - I think because Dad was a baker I must have had more goodies than the average party or something!

In those days parties were generally held in your house with games like pin the donkey, pass the parcel, Postman’s Knock and suchlike organised by your mum and there were no party bags on leaving or at least there were but all you got in it was a piece of birthday cake - none of the masses of crap they get nowadays!

Quite pertinent when Nikki is completely stressing at the moment about what to do for Lily’s party next month. Because she started off with big lavish parties right from the get go, Lily of course has come to expect a huge deal each birthday which isn’t her fault in the slightest. I told Nikki she would make a rod for her back doing that at the time.

And it's quite interesting that she's seeing the ‘party at home’ idea as being a last resort and she would rather contemplate paying £15/£20 per child (and usually a minimum of 10 kids needed) for some ‘experience’ making chocolate stuff and a tea or playing in an inflatable play area or the like. Crazy!

It was so lovely catching up with folk from school - I've noticed people either seem to love or hate reunions - there seems to be no in between - I wonder if it makes a difference if your time at school was half decent or not? I thoroughly enjoyed my schooldays but there’s also the fact that for me it’s another link with home which will always be Inverness in my mind even though I’ve now been in Aberdeen longer than I was in Inverness! And it’s not as if I’ve particularly kept in touch with anyone from school over the years apart from one or two folk but that link is somehow still strong whenever I meet anyone from there.

We were also very lucky to be schooled in a beautiful old building with lots of history attached to it which was situated at the top of a brae (hill), at the bottom of which was Dad's shop.

This is a pic of the shop when my great-uncle established it in the 1920s.


I thought I had a more up to date photo when Dad had it but think I must only have it in actual photo form rather than online and as I don't have my scanner any more I can't transfer it to the pc. The shop itself actually hardly changed over the years - it was only really the surroundings which did. It's now a café/restaurant and apart from the fact it's had an obvious facelift and they've bought over the adjoining shops (where the old fruiterer/florist used to be) and knocked through to add more space, the main part of it is very similar.


With it being at the bottom of the brae, it was the first port of call for teachers and pupils alike at lunchtime and after school and Dad was probably solely responsible for many an overweight child and a slew of diets going astray - especially as he was the first baker in Inverness to introduce fresh cream cakes to its citizens! But it meant that I was always connected to the business especially as I worked there after school and on Saturdays so even if folk didn't recognise me from school, the name Skinner conjured up lovely memories of potato pies and cream buns!

We lived just round the corner from the school - my primary school (which many of the Academy kids had also gone to) was about 100 yards to the right at the bottom of my road and the Academy 100 yards to the left so I literally didn't have to get up until about quarter to 9 most mornings!

That wasn't as bad as my sister though - she had school mornings down to a fine art - she would wait until the first bell rang at 5 to 9 (we could hear it from the house), roll out of bed, slap on the makeup, get dressed and be out the door as the second bell was ringing at 9 o'clock with Mum's desperate pleas to eat some breakfast and 'pull that skirt down' ringing in her ears!

A hard act to follow!

So it's not just my class which forges a link - the school and the whole area around it is steeped in memories for me as well and always will be. The building itself was also steeped in history - it dated back to 1792 and was built to replace a grammar school in the town which had grown too small. It looks rather austere here below but it was beautiful inside and not long after we left, a new state of the art Academy was built across town and 'our' Academy went on to be used as part of Inverness College so we felt privileged to be part of its history. You can see the bell which was better than any alarm we had in the morning!


At the reunion we had a rolling slideshow going in one of the rooms and it was only when I sat and watched it that I was reminded just how many folk were missing. Obviously there were those who just couldn't make it but sadly, we've reached that age now when absent friends don’t always mean people can’t come because of other commitments - they’re just not with us any more. And of course there are fewer and fewer teachers around - I think there were only 5 on Saturday compared to a good dozen at our first reunion - although I was delighted that one of them was there because I’ve long since wanted to tell him how much I appreciated him as a teacher. I used to see him occasionally after I left school when Mum went to indoor bowling as he was a member there but I was always too shy to approach him.

Seeing him on Saturday night I realised I might not get the opportunity again so after we’d got the group photo taken, I went up and told him what a brilliant teacher he’d been and how much he had transformed Maths and Arithmetic for me. He had this complete knack of knowing exactly when someone hadn’t picked up some explanation he’d given to the class so he would set us some exercises then come round everyone individually - every single pupil - and help those who needed it in a quiet, patient manner. Not once did he ever humiliate anyone or show anyone up for not knowing something and every effort, no matter how small, was encouraged and praised. Sadly I come from an era of education where it’s not possible to say that about some of the other teachers.

He was absolutely delighted that I’d spoken to him and instantly remembered our whole family much to my surprise - I wasn’t sure if he’d taught the others but he reeled off all the names to me as though he’d just been explaining logarithms to them yesterday! I was dead impressed. Lovely, lovely man.

Here we all are ageing well for the most part! The space we had for the group photo was unfortunately too small so we had to do it in bits so this is about three-quarters of us - we tried doing a panorama but couldn't keep everyone still for long enough!


And here my lovely Maths teacher, Mr. Wilson, very much ageing well!


We had a delicious cake made which one of the teachers cut for us.


The initials of the name of the school often got us in trouble at that time - as you can see, its full name was Inverness Royal Academy which produced IRA. Given that the troubles in Ireland were very much in the forefront at that time, the IRA (Irish Republican Army) could mean something entirely different in the seventies and often needed a bit of explaining!

This is Charlie - he turns up to every reunion in his original school uniform (although he ditches the shorts now I notice!), very proud of the fact that he (a) still has it and (b) still fits into that blazer!


One of the other highlights of the night was when I was talking to one of the boys (well men!) and he asked me if I’d seen a photo taken at my kindergarten (similar to pre-school) which appeared in one of the ‘Inverness Remembered’ books which are a series of books done by the local newspapers - the Inverness Courier and Press & Journal. I’ve already had the surreal experience of standing in Waterstone’s one day leafing through one of the series and coming across a picture of myself holding a placard marching down the main street on a protest for more teachers' pay! I nearly dropped the book and was dying to grab the nearest customer and say "Look! That's ME! I'm in a BOOK!" :)

I was delighted with this one though because as far as I know there were no other pics taken of kindergarten - cameras weren't so readily in existence in 1962 and if they were, you wouldn't dream of carrying one round with you unless you were on holiday or a professional! This one was presumably taken because Santa was coming to our yearly Christmas concert but there are kids I went to school with in that photo whom I'd no idea I'd also been in kindergarten with! Tiny though it is, I think it's obvious which one is me (the grey hair was dark in those days). :)


This was the third reunion we've had but we've decided not to wait another 10 years until the next one seeing as how we're all getting on a bit so we're having another one in 5 years' time. And the 4 stalwarts who organised it enjoyed it so much that they're going to carry on meeting at the Hotel once a month for get togethers. They'll post the dates on Facebook and if anyone's around they can just turn up. Also if anyone's coming up to Inverness at any time and fancies meeting up with folk from school, if they want they can also stick a message on our Facebook page so that anyone in the area can go along.

So a success.

Unfortunately, since then, I've been ill the whole week which has tarnished the experience somewhat. I've missed table tennis, missed the writing group, missed Lily's swimming class, missed babysitting Lilah while Nikki had to take Lily up to A&E on Thursday (she'd decided to see what it felt like to run her fingers across the top of a disposable razor!!) (Just needed a dressing though and she's fine now). I did feel slightly better on Friday so thought I'd turned a corner but yesterday I felt lousy and exhausted again. However I was able to go to a friend's barbecue at a local beach in the afternoon so I was pleased just to get out.

And the night away seems to have had rather a dramatic effect on Bailey.

Normally I shut both him and Snarf in downstairs overnight but I haven't been away for ages so I thought it might be a bit stressful for them especially as I had a catsitter coming in that I hadn't used before so decided just to give them the run of the house at night and when I came home I found a Bailey-shaped cigar on my bed which I thought was incredibly cute! Almost like I don't know where she is but I know where she spends most of her time so I'll just curl up there! (It wasn't Snarf because they are two very different colours and the hairs on my sheet told their own story).


He hasn't been on my bed for years far less IN it and I've never known if it's because he doesn't want to or because he felt pushed out by the other two. Well since that night, he hasn't been off it! I don't know what's gone on in his wee peabrain but I'm just happy this is the result.

So what's been your experiences of school reunions? Good or bad? Love 'em or hate 'em? Wouldn't go to one for love nor money?

Mystery September 23, 2018

Wow, that's quite a reunion! Glad you had fun.

Serin September 23, 2018

Wonderful that you were able to go. And how lovely that your teacher remembered you all.

I've never had more than mild curiousity about my school reunions so I don't go. My working theory is that if we were inclined to stay in touch, we'd still be in touch. And if not, the internet makes me not hard to find.

(I'm not sure it's fair or reasonable to think that way)

I hope you are feeling better now.

Marg Serin ⋅ September 26, 2018

I've heard quite a few people say that - my sister said it to me in fact the next day yet she still went to 2 of hers and organised the first one herself! For myself I don't think I'd realised the connection between the school, those schoolmates and that strong link to home until I began writing about it - something that happens a lot here. I used to think the quote I have on my front page 'How can I know what I think until I see what I say?' was nuts until I realised how often it bore out!

ConnieK September 23, 2018

Wow! That is so great that you could make it to the reunion! I know it lifted your spirits even if it did exhaust you. I agree about kids birthday parties. They've become competitions. Loved the vintage pics and your walk down memory lane. Cats are funny creatures, aren't they? I've never attended a reunion. I only attended the last two years at the school I graduated from and did not have deep ties to it.

Marg ConnieK ⋅ September 26, 2018

I think that does make a big difference - how much of a connection there is to school. I hadn't realised just how strong the connection was between the school, my schoolmates and home until I began writing about it. And horrible though it is to be ill after something like that and 'pay' for it, I'm also realising that the good memory of the night is stronger than the illness afterwards - the memory of the experience is what stays and the awful bit after recedes in time!

MageB September 23, 2018

I've been to four or five for the small private school I graduated from. I've not been to any for the big public school. It was nice to know the six or so friends were still alive, but we aren't having any more.

So very excited that you could get out and go to the reunion. Very exciting stuff. Bravo.

Marg MageB ⋅ September 26, 2018

Thank you! Four or five is quite a record!

noko September 23, 2018

One of my former boyfriends had a super positive experience in school, star athlete, all that so he loved going to his reunions. I didn't graduate from high school, stopped going when I was 15, so don't have access to a reunion plus I use my married name on social media so would be hard to find.

I very much enjoyed reading about yours here though and I love the pictures! And the history. Home really is in the heart, no doubt about it.

Because I usually sleep in an oversized t-shirt, when I go away I leave that on the bed and I know the cats hang out on it while I am away. Your cat story is so touching. And I too hope you are feeling better by now. It has to be so frustrating not knowing if you are going to be able to see something through.

Marg noko ⋅ September 26, 2018

Yes it is frustrating - kind of puts me off doing something if I know I'm going to 'pay' for it afterwards. However I've realised that, in time, the memory of the event is what stays with me - the horrible time afterwards recedes so if I just steel the nerves and endure that part, it's worth it!

That's a really good idea about your t-shirt actually - I'll maybe do that next time. I stay in my pyjamas in the morning when in bed and don't get dressed until lunchtime so it might be an idea to leave the jammies on the bed next time - then sit for 3 hours picking off the gazillion cat hairs when I come back!! :)

I'm a bit puzzled when you say you don't have access to a reunion? We don't have graduations from secondary (high) school here so I'm not sure if it means if you don't graduate somehow you're seen as 'less' than your schoolmates? We have folk who may have left in 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th years - I myself left in 5th year when I was 16 - but they would still be considered for a reunion just as much as someone who stayed for the whole 6 years?

noko Marg ⋅ September 26, 2018

Interesting. I honestly don't know how they work reunions here for young people that don't graduate as I have never explored it. For the year and a half I was enrolled in high school I was at 3 different schools in three different cities and often didn't go so really only developed a few relationships with folks at the first school. I do remember some of the teachers from that school, who were kind and thoughtful.

Marg noko ⋅ September 26, 2018

That would certainly make a difference if you weren’t settled in one place right enough.

^..^Kat September 24, 2018

I've gone to one, but my school is so small, it was an alumni dinner, rather than a class reunion. Anybody that has ever graduated from that school is invited to attend. I haven't had the urge to attend any since then.

Marg ^..^Kat ⋅ September 26, 2018

Sometimes one's enough! :)

kmh. September 24, 2018

Happy to read you had a wonderful time at the reunion! I love that your classmate still has and wears his blazer haha!!!
Our 10 year reunion in 2015 was a fail, hardly anyone went.. I didn't. Apparently they're trying for a 15 year one in 2020.... meh.... I had a good time in high school, but not sure I feel the need to go.

Marg kmh. ⋅ September 26, 2018

Yeah it does seem to be a hit or a miss thing right enough. I wish I still had my blazer - it was absolutely the comfiest jacket I've ever possessed - maybe because it was a hand-me-down from my sister so was well 'lived-in'!!

NorthernSeeker September 26, 2018

What a wonderful reunion...the cake was spectacular. You are my hero for marching for an increase to teacher's pay! No uniforms in my school which is good because then I'd really know how much larger I am now.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ September 26, 2018

Haha! I’d probably fit into my blazer now because I always had hand me downs from my sister so the blazer I had was always too big!

I’ve no idea how I came to be involved in that march - I was not politically minded at all, especially at that age - I think it was the result of a party in a neighbouring flat where several of the occupants were at teaching college and they were all marching so were trying to embroil as many folk as they could into joining them!

thesunnyabyss September 26, 2018

That sounds most awesome!!! glad you had such a good time!

Sabrina-Belle September 28, 2018

I know what you mean about the place where you grew up always being home. I've lived in Herefordshire for 42 years now and left Shrewsbury when I was 14, but Shrewsbury is still home. I went to a school reunion the year we all turned 50 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We didn't have teachers there though. I'm so glad you made it to your reunion.
I'm not surprised your parties were popular with your father being a baker. My aunt used to come over for mine and always made little cakes in the shape of yachts with sails of rice paper.
I love your old photos.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ September 29, 2018

It's funny the pull a home town can have isn't it? Glad you had a good experience of a reunion as well!

Oswego October 04, 2018

So glad the reunion went so we’ll. Enjoyed also the photos and memories you shared with us.

Take good care!

Marg Oswego ⋅ October 04, 2018

Thank you!

edna million October 09, 2018

I'm so glad it was such a successful reunion trip, but sorry it took some time to recover for it. Still, yay for improvements! I LOVE your school - that is a gorgeous building. I have never gotten over my vast disappointment at not getting to go to high school in our pretty old building. They built a new high school and mine was the first class in it, so totally missed getting to go to the old one. I loved old buildings even as a kid.

I'm totally the opposite about school reunions, although I'll probably go to our next one, next summer. I was an oddball, and I think our school had more than its share of popular clique kids. I remember going to our ten year reunion and being astonished that the snooty kids were STILL snooty. I didn't go to another one until we had an informal get together a year and a half ago, and I actually did enjoy that. Unfortunately the guy who does all the organizing is a very conservative rightwinger republican, and we're always bickering on Facebook, so it's uncomfortable to see him in person!

Marg edna million ⋅ October 09, 2018

I think I must have loved them too as a kid - I can remember going out to a ruined toll house and spending ages exploring it! But I don’t think I appreciated how great that building was until I left - we went on a tour of it before our first reunion in 2000 and it was fantastic to see it all again! And on the Facebook Reunion page there are loads of memories abounding of it :)

It’s funny - when I was at the table at the reunion the guy sitting next to me was one of the ‘popular’ kids when I was at school - he chatted away to me great style when he wouldn’t have looked at me twice 45 years ago!!

edna million October 09, 2018

Oh, and it's weird how massive kids birthday parties are now. My niece with the twins has always had a big bash in a rented space with a bunch of kids and games and stuff. She actually does all the work/decoration/food herself so I don't think it's too major an expense, and they do seem to really enjoy it. I think this year she's doing a slumber party for them since they're turning NINE and aren't so into the little kid parties anymore.

Marg edna million ⋅ October 09, 2018

Yes that’s the sort of thing Nikki did previously - hired the village hall and a bouncy castle - it was handy because she could use all the playgroup stuff as well. However this year was awkward because she’d stopped working at the playgroup by then plus just feeling so yucky with being pregnant, she didn’t feel up to all the work. She ended up having 11 kids round to the house and I think it went well - she was pretty exhausted afterwards (I went out to help tidy up) but the kids had a great time so that’s what matters!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.