February Sunshine in Charting new territory

  • Feb. 8, 2014, 6:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm loving these sunny sparkly days of ice reflecting sunshine and the kind of cold that makes staying inside my only choice. I dream of Olympic glory and skiing down a mountain slope with snow flying. I dream of pirouettes on frozen ponds. I dream of rosy red noses, sleds, lost mittens and wet snow gear. All of this is done from my recliner, heating pad on my neck, coffee at hand and a view of stark white countryside, evergreen trees with branches drooping from snow weight and icicles hanging many inches down from the roof. As long as the sun shines, this enforced hibernation is bearable. As long as I can see that life goes on despite weather, age, and this kind of isolation, I remember that they are all simply passing things.

Those spells of long grey days wear me out and they will be here again soon enough. We need more snow but it does have a price. Grey days cause me to bring out the cook books, find a good novel, watch the History channel for too long and hang around in my robe for more than half the day. In other words, I become generally useless and a waste of perfectly good oxygen.

Speaking of Olympic glory, the Russians had a most interesting opening ceremony, didn't they? For all of the computer and mechanical magic, I thought they portrayed the strength of Russia and her people quite well. Strength, courage and endurance would be the words I used to describe everything I saw. And beauty. Lots and lots of beauty, none of it fragile.

For all that I am a product of the Cold War era, I wish we could be better friends. Seeing anything of Russia still feels like some kind of naughty thing I'm not supposed to see or know. Of course, that just makes me want to know more. They are a society on the rise, growing a decade in each years time span. I guess it always boils down to the old cliche, we are different but the same. I get the feeling that the same sort of wildness I sense in Russia is very like the wildness that was once the USA. I do wonder how they will sort it out in the long run.

Anyhow, I do prattle on. Hope you have a lovely weekend. I really must get busy doing something that requires being upright and moving. :-)


Linda February 08, 2014

I hope they do not become as materialistic as we are here in the USA.

blevins Linda ⋅ February 08, 2014

From what I've heard, Russia is in the age of our "robber barons". The rich drip worldly goods and the poor endure. Crime rates are high, but so are ours. The Russian Mafia thrives in the cities and in some of our cities as well. Putin rules with little tolerance for nonsense. Apparently his hand is everywhere. I had to laugh last night when the Russian gymnast who helped light the Olympic torch was mentioned as someone who also lights Putin's fire as well. Makes me realize again how alike politicians are, no matter where they rule the roost.

Deleted user February 08, 2014

AGree about wishing the Russians well. We aere fed that COld War threat stuff too ... very sad that human beings who have so much in common all over the world can be divided by so much hot air from a few blowhards. And we let them do it.

I didn't watch, we aren't interested in sport but as you say you can learn how a country sees itself from these things .. or how some artistic director sees their country. I'd imagine Putin's hand would be all over their ceremonies. But I forgot it was on. Your continued existence isn't a waste of oxygen in the hearts of many people, dear friend. It's a plus for those who know and love you.

blevins Deleted user ⋅ February 08, 2014

According to the announcers, President Putin had the final word on everything in the Opening Ceremony. I would so like to see St. Petersburg. I've read extensively about that city and it fascinates me.

Thank you. I suppose I'll keep using oxygen for a good while yet. lol. You do the same, if you don't mind.

FishTacoLover February 09, 2014

I love when the Olympics come 'round. I watch endlessly. It's a good thing to do here in the winter during hibernation.

lulu February 09, 2014

Danny and I were fortunate enough to visit Russia in the 90's. The people were absolutely wonderful, loving and took good care of us, great hosts. A bit melodramatic, much less materialistic than America. Most lived in large apartment complexes their apartments reminded us of the 50's I love Lucy style; small with no modern appliances, etc. It was an eye-opening experience, rich in memories for us. Back here in MI and now, we've had plenty of experiences this winter looking at all that snow and cold from the inside out.. brrr, more snow today.

Deleted user February 09, 2014

Another weekend spent as a couch potato when it is sunny and 65 degrees outside. I make no sense to me, myself, or I. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.