Discovery in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 15, 2018, 10:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is yesterday’s view of a crepe myrtle in bloom in my neighborhood.

Mrs. Sherlock, back from her mountain retreat, met me at the gym with Frida this morning and we did our more traditional walk around the riverfront. We haven’t done that in months. Her shoe was bothering her so we cut her part about a mile short and went to a hopping Starbucks after for tea. I sat outside with Frida and this time all sorts of people started talking to me. A healthy happy standard poodle is quite a draw.

It was so good to see her. She was rested and in good spirits. Mr. Sherlock is doing better and missed her too. He doesn’t get out hardly at all now (he needs a hip replacement but has to heal more from the cancer treatment first) and for her two week trip next month I promised to go over and hang out with him one weekend day while she is gone.

They have a series of brand new Stairmasters at the gym. The depth of the step is narrow and it is awkward for footing and the machines are made for taller people but otherwise they are very cool. Literally, they have a built in fan! I was able to monitor my heart rate on the machine and keep it steady in my prescription range. I can’t remember the last time (if ever) I have managed 20 minutes on a Stairmaster

After I walked back to my side of town I stopped by the Farmers Market for tomatoes and eggs. Boy was it hard to find eggs at 11AM. The guys at my favorite organic stand said they have a quota on how many people can sell eggs.

I love my Imperfect produce box but they have not offered tomatoes so far. They have a limited supply of cherry tomatoes, but not rich full flavorful normal sized ones. I haven’t found a tomato in the grocery that actually tastes like a tomato anymore, even the greenhouse organic ones so there is still a reason to go to the market now and then.

After going up incrementally since the beginning of the year my weight has finally stabilized. My mission is to keep it at least where it is and maybe even a few lb. down but without dieting.

No denial. I had full fat ice cream last week.

On Thursday we were talking about getting fish and chips (the salmon is divine) after my sports test because I wasn’t able to eat all morning and I was ravenous but after the rather intense lecture on a heart healthy diet we got (the doctor seemed to be stuck in a time warp and was casting dispersion on eggs and fatty foods like it was 1975) the fish and chips just didn’t seem appealing.

I am not giving up nuts. I am drawing the line there. I don’t eat a lot of nuts but I do eat a few raw almonds, walnuts and pecans each day.

The Mediterranean diet is fine. That is what the cardiologist recommended and that is what I am doing. Mostly.

In my yoga studies this last week I came across this breathing technique called the Buteyko Method. I have one student in particular with asthma and most of the yogic breath techniques I know and can teach are not good for people who suffer with disordered or asthmatic breathing.

It is fascinating. It is all about focused diaphragmatic breathing through the nose all the time. And one reduces the volume of the breath and slows it down.

Because I am basically allergic to Portland and have been stuffed up or had a runny nose and taking antihistamines for 20 years now I am a serious mouth breather. So is my sister Kes and she has asthma as well. And the docs told me to stop taking antihistamines two months ago. I have a steroid spray I use everyday and a strong spray antihistamine for when the allergies get intense now but this is a big change for me.

I have been practicing this breathing for about 5 days now and I find it makes a huge difference in my energy level. I am not waking up tired, which I was really doing a few weeks ago.

Apparently the scientists don’t know why it works but it does seem to be helpful for many many people. There are theories of course and proponents think it has to do with increasing CO2 in the system but there isn’t any real proof of that.

But hey; if I can shut my mouth and focus on my diaphragm and have more energy in a way that is relaxed and healthy…why the heck not breathe this way?

The world is full of interesting things to discover.


Lyn September 16, 2018

Yay for life being good. And for you and your great attitude.

Do the cats hold it against you for hanging out with Frieda?

noko Lyn ⋅ September 16, 2018

They used to but now they recognize her smell and use it as an excuse to pester me for food the minute I get home because they are, you know, s-t-a-r-v-i-n-g while I was out galavanting with my canine friend.

mcbee September 16, 2018

Lately I have tried dairy free ice cream (Ben & Jerry's) and just yuck. Then I tried a small brand frozen yogurt. Super yuck. I have settled on Ben & Jerry's Cherry Garcia frozen yogurt....to me it still tastes like a rich creamy dessert. Other than that...there is no replacement for full fat ice cream....it's just making it a rare treat instead of a common indulgence. Eating is such a complex subject for those of us who would like to age in a healthy way but also not forget the small treats of life.

Marg September 19, 2018

That's really interesting about that breathing method - I'm a mouth breather as well so will have to investigate this further!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.